Southern Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I authored this recipe and just wanted to clarify a few things. This recipe is meant to be cooked on the stove so peanuts should be done in 4 hours or more. If you do decide to cook them in a crockpot then they will take typically 7 hours or more on high. If the peanuts are taking a very long time on the stove like one reviewer stated you possibly purchased peanuts not meant for boiling. Make sure you have not purchased roasted peanuts. Typically the correct peanuts at places like Walmart will have indications of boiling on the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
great idea thanks for posting these did turn out pretty yummy. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Living In: Tangerine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
So good! Just wanted to add what the creator of this recipe noted. You can't boil roasted peanuts. I'm a southern girl and grew up on these. You have to get RAW peanuts. I just cooked 5 lbs and it took 3 1/2 hours to get that's huge pot soft... I like my really squishy and slurpy. ^_^ thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Franzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Great recipe. Had our first taste of boiled peanuts on a vacation to Florida (road trip). First put off because no one told me the peanuts would be soft. After that I'm hooked. Was glad to find this recipe once we were back home in the North. Made them several times. Great with beer for a ball game.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious! I only had 1 lb. of peanuts, Crab Boil and reduced the salt to 1/4 c., so gave it a try. 12 hours in the crock pot on low and I'm in peanut heaven. How do you save these once they're done? It's going to take me a few days to eat all of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthlessma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
When I've traveled in the south; I've often seen roadside stands with "Hot Boiled Peanuts" for sale. Sometimes whimsical signs of giant peanuts would advertise them. Every now and then, I like to make a batch of them to enjoy with an icy soft drink. This recipe has some good flavor ideas within. However, I felt quite a bit more salt was needed for the brine. And for our preferences; I will double the rest of the other ingredients next time because we like it spicy. The cook time was spot-on for raw peanuts. I will definitely make again with these changes. A very good base to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I don't know about everyone else but be warned your house will smell like a seafood resturant if you cook them in your kitchen. Delicous but a bit stinky. Now days I just cook them in a crock pot on my porch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Takes a good 24 hours on a crock pot to make these really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utley813

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Recipe is not good. after 4 hours peanuts still not done. after 7 hours peanuts still not done. simmered overnight...you guessed it still not done. the couple i have tried has no flavor. will not be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boiled Peanuts

See how to make tasty boiled peanuts from scratch.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States