Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving, with changes, and it was terrific. I omitted the condensed milk and the sugar, and made a 1/2 batch of the topping. It was a delicious side dish with just enough sweet that you could still taste the squash. Next time I will make with evaporated milk to save a bit of the expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This recipe was well-received at the dinner I brought it to. I, however, did make quite a few adjustments. I left out the sugar, increased the sweetened condensed milk to 3/4 cup, added another egg, some cinnamon and nutmeg and at least doubled the amount of pecans in the topping. It was a hit, but I heard lots of jokes about hardening of the arteries because of all the yummy butter in it. My husband says it tastes like a cross between pumpkin and pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
OH MY WORD! This is the best butternut squash I have ever had! I made it last Christmas and probably 6-7 more family occasions since. Everyone loves it! My mother in law actually asked ME for the recipe! Trust me, that says alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
MMMMMM made this for Thanksgiving, it was so good I did not eat the mashed potatoes (my favorite!) so I could instead have a second helping of this! I changed it and this is what I did: 3 c squash, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup whole milk, 1/4 cup butter, 2 tsp vanilla. Baked as directed. Great texture, not too sweet, still tasted like squash. My kids LOVED it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
5 star recipe! Absolutely wonderful! The only thing I didn't know if it was to be served cold as a dessert or hot as a side dish. I baked mine a few hours ahead of time so it was just warm when serve as a side dish. YUM! Every one of the dinner guests made a comment how good it was and asked for the recipe. I was a little leary about the topping that goes on the top but it is a must. The guest loved the topping. I did cut down on the sugar as suggested by other reviewers and I did have to bake mine at least an extra half hour or more. The end results were great. Thanks for the recipe. This recipe goes in my recipe file as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was amazing with some changes. The first time I made it, I made it as written and it was incredibly sweet. I completely cut out the white sugar and cut the butter in half. I topped it with half a package of ritz crackers crushed. It was easier than making the topping and not so fattening. I got great feedback when I made it this way. It was the dish of the evening. I will be making it like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Yummmmmmmmmmmm! My five-year-old even liked this (I told him it was pudding). I was out of Eagle Brand, so made my own (using the famous Heloise recipe). I didn't even have whipping cream, so used evaporated milk. I forgot(?) to put the topping on and this was still scrum-diddly-umptious. I'm going to do the topping next time. Thanks Jiniwin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I thought this was a side dish first until I added the sugar... 1 cup?!~ Oh, then I realized that it is going to dessert! =) Turned out really good, and we really liked it. (Can't make it too often, though, since my dh is trying to lose weight. Ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
This was my first time cooking with butternut squash and it turned out great. All of my co-workers loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Just had to send a review of this recipe. Served it for Christmas dinner,everyone loved it, was a real hit with me! Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States