Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This recipe was outstanding. Everyone wanted the recipe. It served 12 of us - I used it as a sweet side dish for a holiday meal. It was a hit and I would definitely make it again. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar as was suggested and it was fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
5 star recipe! Absolutely wonderful! The only thing I didn't know if it was to be served cold as a dessert or hot as a side dish. I baked mine a few hours ahead of time so it was just warm when serve as a side dish. YUM! Every one of the dinner guests made a comment how good it was and asked for the recipe. I was a little leary about the topping that goes on the top but it is a must. The guest loved the topping. I did cut down on the sugar as suggested by other reviewers and I did have to bake mine at least an extra half hour or more. The end results were great. Thanks for the recipe. This recipe goes in my recipe file as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made this for Christmas but made some major adjustments and it was a big hit (the original recipe was tooooo sweet). I omitted the white sugar - cut the butter down to 1/4 cup but kept everything else the same (although I did not use all the topping - just a thin spread). IT WAS GREAT! Thanks for the recipe - will make it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
We made a rather large batch for Thanksgiving this year and our children just ate it up. What a great recipe. This one will be a traditional one for us throughout the years too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I used this recipe for yesterday's Thanksgiving 2002 feast. My turkey was super moist, my macaroni and cheese was a huge hit, but nothing (!) received more raves and demands for the recipe than the butternut squash. I even had guests who wanted more squash for dessert instead of a choice from several pies. Thanks for a wonderful new Thanskgiving "tradition" dish that I'll be making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This recipe was a hit and a miss. People generally liked the initial taste but found it so incredibly sweet they couldn't/didn't eat much of it. Those who didn't like squash to begin with weren't converted by this one. The topping was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
OH MY WORD! This is the best butternut squash I have ever had! I made it last Christmas and probably 6-7 more family occasions since. Everyone loves it! My mother in law actually asked ME for the recipe! Trust me, that says alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I just made this recipe for christams 2001 and EVERYONE just loved this!!!My husband said itt was the best he has ever tasted and everyone raved about it i will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Just had to send a review of this recipe. Served it for Christmas dinner,everyone loved it, was a real hit with me! Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
My husband disliked squash until he gave this one a taste. He even went back for seconds! We served it for Thanksgiving dinner. The neighbors and all the kids loved it! A+ recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States