Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I'm glad I tried this recipe before I became more health conscious, because I would never try this now. However, knowing how amazing this is, I look forward to making it about once a year. It's wonderful!!! I especially love the optional topping! I have found that it is just as good using milk in place of the heavy cream to make it just a bit lighter! I will be trying other substitutions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is very good. I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made up two different squash dishes this year for Thanksgiving (Canada). I made this one and then made just plain mashed squash in case no one liked this one. This recipe was devoured and no one touched the other!! Holy Cow this was good!!! I omitted the sugar completely though and it was still plenty sweet-just right. My mom says she'll never eat plain squash again. If you're considering this recipe-TRY IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stirling, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
This was really good. The topping made it way too sweet for us. Easy to prepare and looked nice to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it was so yummy and a major hit! I did leave out the sugar all together. The sweetened condensed milk made it just sweet enough. I am making it again for Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
I did not care for this recipe. I do like Butternut Squash but this was just to sweet for my taste. It was not a hit with my family either. Sorry, but this was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This recipe was sooooo good! It was different than the usual sweet potato casserole and everyone loved it. My husband was sceptical but after taking a tiny taste, immediately got another scoop. I'll be definitely using this one again, but only for special occasions as it is RICH! Next time I'm only using half the topping as well. It was good but a little much. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Made this for this Thanksgiving and it was a great hit with the guests so definately a 5 thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Absolutey delicious! Everytime I make this I receive request for the recipe from everyone! Even those that say they dont' like squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This recipe was excellent! I have made it for several gatherings and everyone wants the recipe. It is sweet like a dessert and extremely tasty. And, it takes little effort to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States