Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Still tastes great with many of the changes suggested by other reviews and better for you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is SO delicious. Adjust to your taste. I used 1 C milk instead of the condensed milk and cream. Omitted butter. Used 1/2 C brown sugar instead of 1 C white sugar. Also tried it with 1/2 C milk and 1/2 C plain yogurt. I have made it with and without topping - both are good. Once, I also added three eggs and left in the oven too long and ended up with a delicious squash cake! I make this at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This tasted fantastic! And it got my picky 2-year-old to eat squash!!! It was just a little too sweet for us. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup, and even that was too much. The vanilla also seemed to overwhelm the squash flavor. I will definitely be making this again, but next time, I think I will reduce the amount of vanilla to 1 tsp, and will be reducing the sugar to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was a 5 start dish with some changes, reduce white sugar to 1/4 cup, no sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 the topping is plenty. If you like a very sweet dish then follow recipe but my husband and I and guest found with the above changes it to be plenty sweet enough while still knowing it was sqaush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I didn't use the nuts in the topping, but everything else and it was delicious!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is the best recipe ever. Yes, I realize how super sweet and full of calories it is... I cook this for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year. Everyone ask for the recipe, even my mother-in-law. I double it, but dont double the toping because it makes plenty and cook it in a 9 x 13 pan. It usually take about an hour and a half to cook at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Just not very good. Save yourself all the trouble and just eat your Butternut with a little butter and maple syrup with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I have now made this 2 times, both times with the suggestions: (1) no topping, (2) excluding the last 1 cup of sugar. The first time was because I'd been given 2 large butternut squash and wanted something to do with them. They were exceptionally well received at our pot luck and again at our Thanksgiving dinner when I used them with some acorn squash I had remaining. It is very sweet without the additions and the texture is much like a pumpkin pie without the crust. My guess is just about any kind of gourd-like squash could be used, including pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Me and my mom just loved this dessert. The only changes that I made was to use 3/4 cups of condensed milk,and I added a little sugar and Nutmeg.I will surely make this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My family can't wait for the butternut squash to come in season. I seem to have to cook this a little longer than it calls but it is so delicious. More of a dessert than a side dish. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States