Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
My whole family LOVED this dish on thanskgiving. I put less sugar, used regular milk instead of condensed, and i used lite cream instead of heavy. I added a few cranberries too since i had them leftover from some other dishes. I'm making some again tonite since I want more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
totally awesome. HUGE hit at my thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this as the recipe states and it was really sweet. I will make it again but will go through the reviews again and make some adjustments. My husband even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good on Thanksgiving. Can be eaten as a dessert with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
OK, but next time I'll cut the sugar way down to 1/3 C. and reduce the vanilla. And, I'll add the topping which I didn't have time to do. This is definitely a company side dish (or dessert pudding?) and disguises the natural sweetness of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was wonderful. I omitted the sugar and it was more than sweet enough, also ommitted the heavy cream. It was like custard. Yummy! This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love this recipe. I've made it for the last 3 Thanksgivings and it's been a huge hit! I have done a few things differently to make it my own. First, I sprinkle candied pecans on the bottom of the casserole dish before pouring the squash in. Also I use the pecans for the topping and I add a dash of pumpkin pie spice to it. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Outstanding! I don't consider myself a good cook and I know I didn't get things exactly right (because I had 2 cups of squash to work with) but even with eyeballing remaining ingredients it came out great and I am having trouble not eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a delicious dish! It will definitely appear on my Thanksgiving spread this year! Just a word of caution - I thought it was a little too liquidy. I'd maybe cut the liquids/butter just a bit. Could maybe double the topping mixture. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg & double the nuts to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States