Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving, with changes, and it was terrific. I omitted the condensed milk and the sugar, and made a 1/2 batch of the topping. It was a delicious side dish with just enough sweet that you could still taste the squash. Next time I will make with evaporated milk to save a bit of the expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This recipe was well-received at the dinner I brought it to. I, however, did make quite a few adjustments. I left out the sugar, increased the sweetened condensed milk to 3/4 cup, added another egg, some cinnamon and nutmeg and at least doubled the amount of pecans in the topping. It was a hit, but I heard lots of jokes about hardening of the arteries because of all the yummy butter in it. My husband says it tastes like a cross between pumpkin and pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
OH MY WORD! This is the best butternut squash I have ever had! I made it last Christmas and probably 6-7 more family occasions since. Everyone loves it! My mother in law actually asked ME for the recipe! Trust me, that says alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
MMMMMM made this for Thanksgiving, it was so good I did not eat the mashed potatoes (my favorite!) so I could instead have a second helping of this! I changed it and this is what I did: 3 c squash, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup whole milk, 1/4 cup butter, 2 tsp vanilla. Baked as directed. Great texture, not too sweet, still tasted like squash. My kids LOVED it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
5 star recipe! Absolutely wonderful! The only thing I didn't know if it was to be served cold as a dessert or hot as a side dish. I baked mine a few hours ahead of time so it was just warm when serve as a side dish. YUM! Every one of the dinner guests made a comment how good it was and asked for the recipe. I was a little leary about the topping that goes on the top but it is a must. The guest loved the topping. I did cut down on the sugar as suggested by other reviewers and I did have to bake mine at least an extra half hour or more. The end results were great. Thanks for the recipe. This recipe goes in my recipe file as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was amazing with some changes. The first time I made it, I made it as written and it was incredibly sweet. I completely cut out the white sugar and cut the butter in half. I topped it with half a package of ritz crackers crushed. It was easier than making the topping and not so fattening. I got great feedback when I made it this way. It was the dish of the evening. I will be making it like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Yummmmmmmmmmmm! My five-year-old even liked this (I told him it was pudding). I was out of Eagle Brand, so made my own (using the famous Heloise recipe). I didn't even have whipping cream, so used evaporated milk. I forgot(?) to put the topping on and this was still scrum-diddly-umptious. I'm going to do the topping next time. Thanks Jiniwin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
I thought this was a side dish first until I added the sugar... 1 cup?!~ Oh, then I realized that it is going to dessert! =) Turned out really good, and we really liked it. (Can't make it too often, though, since my dh is trying to lose weight. Ha)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
This was my first time cooking with butternut squash and it turned out great. All of my co-workers loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Just had to send a review of this recipe. Served it for Christmas dinner,everyone loved it, was a real hit with me! Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States