Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This is a good alternative to candied yams for the holidays. It was good, but sweet. I didn't use any white sugar and less butter than the recipe called for and it was still sweet but not overwhelming. I made the topping but only used a little bit, I wish I had put more of it on because it was good and enhanced the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
This recipe was outstanding. Everyone wanted the recipe. It served 12 of us - I used it as a sweet side dish for a holiday meal. It was a hit and I would definitely make it again. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar as was suggested and it was fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
5 star recipe! Absolutely wonderful! The only thing I didn't know if it was to be served cold as a dessert or hot as a side dish. I baked mine a few hours ahead of time so it was just warm when serve as a side dish. YUM! Every one of the dinner guests made a comment how good it was and asked for the recipe. I was a little leary about the topping that goes on the top but it is a must. The guest loved the topping. I did cut down on the sugar as suggested by other reviewers and I did have to bake mine at least an extra half hour or more. The end results were great. Thanks for the recipe. This recipe goes in my recipe file as a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I made this for Christmas but made some major adjustments and it was a big hit (the original recipe was tooooo sweet). I omitted the white sugar - cut the butter down to 1/4 cup but kept everything else the same (although I did not use all the topping - just a thin spread). IT WAS GREAT! Thanks for the recipe - will make it forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
We made a rather large batch for Thanksgiving this year and our children just ate it up. What a great recipe. This one will be a traditional one for us throughout the years too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I used this recipe for yesterday's Thanksgiving 2002 feast. My turkey was super moist, my macaroni and cheese was a huge hit, but nothing (!) received more raves and demands for the recipe than the butternut squash. I even had guests who wanted more squash for dessert instead of a choice from several pies. Thanks for a wonderful new Thanskgiving "tradition" dish that I'll be making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
This recipe was a hit and a miss. People generally liked the initial taste but found it so incredibly sweet they couldn't/didn't eat much of it. Those who didn't like squash to begin with weren't converted by this one. The topping was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
OH MY WORD! This is the best butternut squash I have ever had! I made it last Christmas and probably 6-7 more family occasions since. Everyone loves it! My mother in law actually asked ME for the recipe! Trust me, that says alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
I just made this recipe for christams 2001 and EVERYONE just loved this!!!My husband said itt was the best he has ever tasted and everyone raved about it i will use this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Just had to send a review of this recipe. Served it for Christmas dinner,everyone loved it, was a real hit with me! Thank you for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States