Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made this tonight and then realized that I dont know how this is re heated. Does anyone know how this will fair, since Thanksgiving is tomorrow?? Please let me know if you have suggestions on how to handle this....thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've made this for every major holiday almost for the past couple years. I've always left the one cup of sugar out of the recipe and it was plenty sweet. Always a big hit. I can never seem to make enough of it and people always request the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I thought this recipe was excellent. I used a hubbard squash in stead and it turned out great. I made exactly according to the recipe other than that and it was delish! Thanks a lot for the great recipe it will make a yummy addition to the holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
My first attempt at this recipe wasn't too bad at all. =) The topping is deadly, and I'll leave it out the next time. I had only a small amount and needed a large glass of milk afterwards. It was delicious - but oh much too sweet. I'm looking forward to making the recipe again, perhaps with some of the adjustments other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEELEYSBROOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Yumm! The first time I made this I made it as written and it was very yummy although a little too sweet. I have made it a few times since and I completely cut the sugar out and this last time I didn't have cream so I just used a little milk (it was even skim!) and it was fabulous! Even my young kids (6,4 & 1) ate this up when prepared this way and it's a little healthier without the sugar and cream. Thanks SOO much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
LOVED IT! I used light ingredients (ff cond milk, yogurt spread instead of butter, half & half instead of heavy cream) and it was still delicious! Perfect fall treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This recipe is delicious - but incredibly rich. If I were to make it again I would cut the sugar in half, and reduce the amount of condensed milk. It is decadent, but you lose a lot of the natural squash flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was amazing with some changes. The first time I made it, I made it as written and it was incredibly sweet. I completely cut out the white sugar and cut the butter in half. I topped it with half a package of ritz crackers crushed. It was easier than making the topping and not so fattening. I got great feedback when I made it this way. It was the dish of the evening. I will be making it like this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLOCKSMITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was the first time I ever prepared squash at Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it came out pretty good. I kept asking my boyfriend to try it but he was busy with guests. Later that night after everyone had gone home, he got a chance to try it. He finished the whole bowl. Didn't even leave any for me. I guess he liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Extremely sweet and wodnerful. Huge hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States