Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
After making this for thanksgiving my mom said I am now in charge of making it for the rest of my life. HAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Not great - butternut squash is too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRICIA61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
You just don't need that cup of sugar in this recipe because the sweetened condensed milk makes it sweet enough. I make this every year at Thanksgiving as a side dish and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Not so good. I was looking for a long lost recipe and came upon this one which appeared similar. I tried it with all of the fixes and it still came out way too sweet. I'll have to search harder and submit my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
WAY too much sugar! This was actually painful for some of my family to eat. I added an extra cup of squash. I will reduce the amount of sugar next time. I enjoyed the creaminess of the squash. I will also reduce the amount of topping as mine spilled over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is a very good recipe, but needs adjustments as mentioned by others to remain a vegetable dish! I cut sugar to 1/4 cup and switched to brown sugar instead, cut the butter to 1/4 cup, and I will use milk next time instead of the heavy cream; also, I increased squash to 4 cups. Very good-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chatham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I made this non-dairy so I used margarine and soymilk instead and it came out great! Squash is just yummy no matter what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaJoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Far Rockaway, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this and substituted sweet potatoes and it was fiiiiiinnnneeee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This was great..a bit too sweet, so i'll cut out some of the sugar next time..but this can also easily be a pie filling...lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
MMMMMM made this for Thanksgiving, it was so good I did not eat the mashed potatoes (my favorite!) so I could instead have a second helping of this! I changed it and this is what I did: 3 c squash, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup whole milk, 1/4 cup butter, 2 tsp vanilla. Baked as directed. Great texture, not too sweet, still tasted like squash. My kids LOVED it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States