Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
totally awesome. HUGE hit at my thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Huge hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made this as the recipe states and it was really sweet. I will make it again but will go through the reviews again and make some adjustments. My husband even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good on Thanksgiving. Can be eaten as a dessert with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
OK, but next time I'll cut the sugar way down to 1/3 C. and reduce the vanilla. And, I'll add the topping which I didn't have time to do. This is definitely a company side dish (or dessert pudding?) and disguises the natural sweetness of the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was wonderful. I omitted the sugar and it was more than sweet enough, also ommitted the heavy cream. It was like custard. Yummy! This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love this recipe. I've made it for the last 3 Thanksgivings and it's been a huge hit! I have done a few things differently to make it my own. First, I sprinkle candied pecans on the bottom of the casserole dish before pouring the squash in. Also I use the pecans for the topping and I add a dash of pumpkin pie spice to it. So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Outstanding! I don't consider myself a good cook and I know I didn't get things exactly right (because I had 2 cups of squash to work with) but even with eyeballing remaining ingredients it came out great and I am having trouble not eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This is a delicious dish! It will definitely appear on my Thanksgiving spread this year! Just a word of caution - I thought it was a little too liquidy. I'd maybe cut the liquids/butter just a bit. Could maybe double the topping mixture. I also added cinnamon, nutmeg & double the nuts to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Still tastes great with many of the changes suggested by other reviews and better for you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States