Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I used this recipe along with the Baker's secret pie crust.It made a killer pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Definitely a winner! I had to substitute the heavy cream with butter milk and used a bit less sugar. I also used a carnival squash, as I imagine this recipe would work well with any squash. My kids and husband loved this dish so much that I plan to make it every year and start my own family tradition of serving this sweet side dish along side our other holiday favorites. Thank you very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
A wonderful dessert. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Holy Moly! SWEEEEET!! It was very good, but very, very sweet! I will definitely make it again, but will cut back on the sugar, etc. I did not make the topping - nuts are not my thing. Very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Whoa! This stuff was soo good I didn't change a thing! Made it for Thanksgiving 2005 and everyone loved it! No dessert needed after this sweet dish! Yummy! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving, with changes, and it was terrific. I omitted the condensed milk and the sugar, and made a 1/2 batch of the topping. It was a delicious side dish with just enough sweet that you could still taste the squash. Next time I will make with evaporated milk to save a bit of the expense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Hi there - made this for Thanksgiving Dinner 2005, and it was the hit of the dinner! A little Southern cooking all the way in Boston! Easy to make - and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tori B
Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was a huge hit this Thanksgiving.Very nice taste,sweet and yummy.Thanks I will be making this again and again.I did not use the topping part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I'm glad I tried this recipe before I became more health conscious, because I would never try this now. However, knowing how amazing this is, I look forward to making it about once a year. It's wonderful!!! I especially love the optional topping! I have found that it is just as good using milk in place of the heavy cream to make it just a bit lighter! I will be trying other substitutions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States