Southern Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is SO delicious. Adjust to your taste. I used 1 C milk instead of the condensed milk and cream. Omitted butter. Used 1/2 C brown sugar instead of 1 C white sugar. Also tried it with 1/2 C milk and 1/2 C plain yogurt. I have made it with and without topping - both are good. Once, I also added three eggs and left in the oven too long and ended up with a delicious squash cake! I make this at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This tasted fantastic! And it got my picky 2-year-old to eat squash!!! It was just a little too sweet for us. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup, and even that was too much. The vanilla also seemed to overwhelm the squash flavor. I will definitely be making this again, but next time, I think I will reduce the amount of vanilla to 1 tsp, and will be reducing the sugar to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucaipa, California, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This was a 5 start dish with some changes, reduce white sugar to 1/4 cup, no sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 the topping is plenty. If you like a very sweet dish then follow recipe but my husband and I and guest found with the above changes it to be plenty sweet enough while still knowing it was sqaush!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I didn't use the nuts in the topping, but everything else and it was delicious!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This is the best recipe ever. Yes, I realize how super sweet and full of calories it is... I cook this for Thanksgiving and Christmas every year. Everyone ask for the recipe, even my mother-in-law. I double it, but dont double the toping because it makes plenty and cook it in a 9 x 13 pan. It usually take about an hour and a half to cook at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Just not very good. Save yourself all the trouble and just eat your Butternut with a little butter and maple syrup with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I have now made this 2 times, both times with the suggestions: (1) no topping, (2) excluding the last 1 cup of sugar. The first time was because I'd been given 2 large butternut squash and wanted something to do with them. They were exceptionally well received at our pot luck and again at our Thanksgiving dinner when I used them with some acorn squash I had remaining. It is very sweet without the additions and the texture is much like a pumpkin pie without the crust. My guess is just about any kind of gourd-like squash could be used, including pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Me and my mom just loved this dessert. The only changes that I made was to use 3/4 cups of condensed milk,and I added a little sugar and Nutmeg.I will surely make this dessert again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
My family can't wait for the butternut squash to come in season. I seem to have to cook this a little longer than it calls but it is so delicious. More of a dessert than a side dish. It is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
After making this for thanksgiving my mom said I am now in charge of making it for the rest of my life. HAH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States