Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
This is one of the best bread recipes I have ever made and tasted, beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
Oh, this is really good. Made it once with wholewheat flour and it was still very light and tasty. If you use veggie oil instead of butter - this becomes a vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Awesome!!!! I rolled mine in pumpkin, sesame, and sunflower seeds. They were perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I made these Southern Butter Rolls along with the Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup from this site. These are a wonderful yeasty roll.I was suprized at how well they came out.I think they are as good today as they were yesterday. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I had lost my favorite roll recipe and decided to try these...oh my goodness this is a keeper! I have this one saved. They turned out like a picture...and so fluffy and light but yet rich buttery flavor. They were not at all heavy...feathery light. The only modifications I made were I heated my water 105-115degrees and added butter flavor shortening to that. I added it to the dry yeast, sugar, and 2 cups of flour. I then added all but the last half cup of flour blended with the salt. I had always been taught that salt can kill yeast if added directly so I never add salt until I have added some of the flour first. I use the last half cup of flour to knead into the yeast adding a little at a time because all flours differ. I only use bread flour with my bread making. By heating the liquid to between 105-115, it cut down on the kneading time tremendously...cut it in half. After the rolls came out of the oven, I immediately brushed the tops with butter using a pastry brush. They came out of the pan with ease(I use cooking spray to coat bottom and sides of pan) and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These are GREAT!!! I used butter instead of shortening...they are the BEST!!!! The whole family is requesting these rolls at every meal...a tip...I use 1/3 and freeze the dough in ziploc bags(2 bags with 1/3 each)...the next 2 nights I thaw the bread for 2-2-1/2 hours form into rolls and allow to rise the second time. That way we get fresh rolls for 3 nights with one batch!! Each batch is as good as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My kids loved this rolls and I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was the first time I've ever made rolls and I made them for thanksgiving and used the advice of one reviewer about melting the shortening. They came out wonderful and teasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I reviewed these rolls last year when I made them for thanksgiving, but at that time I made a few changes. This time I made them as the recipe called for and they turned out even better. The only change I stayed with was the butter flavored shortening. I made some into regular dinner rolls and some into hamburger buns. next I might try a loaf of bread. This will probably be my go to recipe for bread making. i do use this recipe for just about everything. ESPECIALLY hamburger buns. just shape them into rolls about 2/3 the size of what you want your buns to be and spray with water, sprinkle with sesame seeds, and let rise for another 45 min to an hour. I had to bake mine a little longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These were a hit at Thanksgiving! SUPER easy to make, and very tasty! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Higginbotham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States