Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These are very simple to make and turn out great every time. I mixed them in my kitchen aid stand mixer which cut down on time some. Tried once using warm water like some other reviewers suggested and they didn't turn out as well. Follow the directions as stated and they are delish! Can't keep the kids out of them. We like to sprinkle a little thyme on them before we bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I was going to only give this recipe a rating of three stars, but the taste is fantastic! It's taste is similar to the rolls at Texas Road House or an excellent quality store-brought rolls. Characteristics: An Very soft and very thin crust. Extremely soft interior. Negatives: I use the "scoop and level" method for measuring flour in a recipe. I DO NOT IN ANY WAY PACK THE FLOUR. I found this dough extremely hard to knead. The remedy I used for this problem was a 15 minute "rest period" and an extra 3 tablespoons of water. Then I kneaded it for 8 minutes. I baked this dough for 13 minutes and it was perfect. I love these rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Tried to make these on Christmas morning b/c of all of the great reviews. They never rose I followed the directions I've never had any problem w/ yeast breads. And since its Christmas morning nothing is open so no bread for Christmas dinner!! You are better off to buy frozen rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Pollok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I would have given this recipe a 3.5 if i could. The texture of these rolls were perfect the best i have come across on allrecipies.com, but the flavor left something to be desired. Very blah! maybe if i would have used the butter flavored crisco instead of plain it would have been better, Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were just okay to me, not great. Wonder why they are called "Southern Butter Rolls" when there is no butter included in the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh, my, my, my, my. Tender flaky bits of heaven. You gotta try these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
These were wonderful. I made the dough in my bread machine and then made them into rolls, let rise for 30 minutes and baked according to directions. My family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boadicea333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These were good! Although I think sometime wierd happened on my end as they were not as light as I expected them to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
GREAT! I used butter instead of shortening..and I did not have instant yeast..so I used warm water...they turned out so good..they reminded me of the rolls we used to love at the school cafeteria.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSONION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
OMG these rolls are soooo delicious and "airy"! I've been reheating them in the microwave and they are still good. I froze half the dough and plan on making cinnamon rolls this weekend. Don't see why that shouldn't work out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Convent, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States