Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Delicious! I have NEVER made homemade bread before and these turned out fabulous! My picky little guys ate them like hot donuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I tried this recipe and found it seriously needed a milk byproduct to get it to work properly...next time try a half cup of milk with the water and use warm water for the yeast...otherwise is just doesn't rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SingingDragon
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were great. The only change I made was I used bread flour instead of all-purpose. Have tried other roll recipes on this site and this one I will make again. They were light and fluffy. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Absolutely wonderful, definitely a keeper! My husband loved it so much he said it made the taste of the steak pale in comparison (and it was a filet mignon) I followed the recipe to a T, they came out with the perfect consistence, texture and flavor and are sooooo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
These were great. I used these buns to make sliders. Thank u
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryChef08

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Made these following directions as stated. 20 minutes of kneading is defiantly a workout but it was worth it in the end. These were very delicious, light, fluffy and pleased the hubby. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe. What helped the most was the suggestions made by TUNISIANSWIFE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leialohadm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
these were so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These are very simple to make and turn out great every time. I mixed them in my kitchen aid stand mixer which cut down on time some. Tried once using warm water like some other reviewers suggested and they didn't turn out as well. Follow the directions as stated and they are delish! Can't keep the kids out of them. We like to sprinkle a little thyme on them before we bake them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASTRONG

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I was going to only give this recipe a rating of three stars, but the taste is fantastic! It's taste is similar to the rolls at Texas Road House or an excellent quality store-brought rolls. Characteristics: An Very soft and very thin crust. Extremely soft interior. Negatives: I use the "scoop and level" method for measuring flour in a recipe. I DO NOT IN ANY WAY PACK THE FLOUR. I found this dough extremely hard to knead. The remedy I used for this problem was a 15 minute "rest period" and an extra 3 tablespoons of water. Then I kneaded it for 8 minutes. I baked this dough for 13 minutes and it was perfect. I love these rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States