Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I had lost my favorite roll recipe and decided to try these...oh my goodness this is a keeper! I have this one saved. They turned out like a picture...and so fluffy and light but yet rich buttery flavor. They were not at all heavy...feathery light. The only modifications I made were I heated my water 105-115degrees and added butter flavor shortening to that. I added it to the dry yeast, sugar, and 2 cups of flour. I then added all but the last half cup of flour blended with the salt. I had always been taught that salt can kill yeast if added directly so I never add salt until I have added some of the flour first. I use the last half cup of flour to knead into the yeast adding a little at a time because all flours differ. I only use bread flour with my bread making. By heating the liquid to between 105-115, it cut down on the kneading time tremendously...cut it in half. After the rolls came out of the oven, I immediately brushed the tops with butter using a pastry brush. They came out of the pan with ease(I use cooking spray to coat bottom and sides of pan) and everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
These are GREAT!!! I used butter instead of shortening...they are the BEST!!!! The whole family is requesting these rolls at every meal...a tip...I use 1/3 and freeze the dough in ziploc bags(2 bags with 1/3 each)...the next 2 nights I thaw the bread for 2-2-1/2 hours form into rolls and allow to rise the second time. That way we get fresh rolls for 3 nights with one batch!! Each batch is as good as the first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
My first attempt with this recipe wasn't all that great, but my second attempt...WOW! I made my rolls a little bigger so I yielded 18 rolls instead of the 24 stated in the recipe. I used butter flavored shortening, and melted it first in a saucepan, then added the cold water to it. That made the water/shortening mixture the perfect temperature for the flour mixture. The 18 rolls turned out large and fluffy, with a great taste that didn't need any extra butter on top. My older daughter ate 3 of these large rolls and almost ignored the rest of the dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water (I didn't use cold water, yeast works better with warm water) and sugar for ten minutes, then I added the melted butter (which I used instead of shortening) and all the dry ingredients. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or so. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll), covered them with saran wrap and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right for me. Decent dinner roll. NOTE: When you make this roll recipe--don't follow the instructions on letting it rise. Use warm water. Using cold water may work for others but it's never worked for me. It'll save you some wasted ingredients in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
What did I do wrong? The taste of these dinners rolls was pretty good, but they were dense--not light and fluffy like grandma used to make. I kneaded the dough for twenty minutes--I even timed it out. Did I use the wrong kind of yeast? What? Again, these were absolutely delicious, but something went wrong. The yeast must have been fresh. It wasn't in the cupboard for a long time; I just bought it at the store the day I made the rolls. I'm an inexperienced baker, so the outcome was probably my fault--but I don't know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
Oh, this is really good. Made it once with wholewheat flour and it was still very light and tasty. If you use veggie oil instead of butter - this becomes a vegan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
really good and easy. even the kids helped make the rolls. I used a breadmaker for the kneading part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
VERY good!!!! I just added all the ingredients into my bread machine and ran the dough cycle. Then I shaped them into balls & put half on a cookie sheet and the other half in a spring form pan. Then I preheated the oven to 200, turned the oven off & put the rolls in the oven for their 45 minutes proofing. After that, I preheated to 400 and kept to regular directions. The ones in the spring form were even better we thought. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
This recipe isn't bad, but not memorable. My family ate them, but didn't rave. Baking at 400 was a little too hot and made the tops very dark while the middle rolls were still gooey on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2000
This is one of the best bread recipes I have ever made and tasted, beautiful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States