Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
These looked really pretty but came out a little dense for me. Still looking for a super fluffy roll like the bakery makes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
made these rolls for the first time today.. easy and delicious.. family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is by far the best bun recipe I have found on this site. They are light and so very easy to make. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Fantastic! I warmed the water with the butter flavored shortening. I also used my bread machine on the dough setting for the kneading and rising. I got 15 rolls in a 9x13 pan.Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
just made these again and added a little extra sugar and turned the dough into cinnamon rolls! The best I've tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was another recipe I really wanted to like, and maybe need to give it another try, as another reviewer here suggested. It got such fantastic reviews, and I followed the recipe to a "T", but ultimately the rolls were dry and hard. Decent flavor, sub-par texture. I wanted the light, fluffy texture most others were raving about! Any suggestions would be most appreciated...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
i made 18 thinking that i would make some for dinner and then lunch the next day.... not one was left and everyone asked for more! quick tip: i didnt knead for 20 but i rise the dough in a preheated oven that i had turned off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made exactly as recipe states these rolls are light and airy. Lovely golden brown tops. Definitely will be my go-to for dinner rolls. Will be using another reviewers idea for wheat rolls as well. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made these as the recipe is written and will make these again and again. I have been looking for a new good recipe for dinner rolls and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Awesome! I made mine slightly more dense because I skipped the shortening completely and subbed for 1/4 cup of canola oil... the shortening is not healthy enough for us and the canola oil worked out fine. I also baked for 12 minutes on 350 and they were completely done.. maybe my oven is just quick. I brushed the top of the rolls with margarine. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinLiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States