Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water (I didn't use cold water, yeast works better with warm water) and sugar for ten minutes, then I added the melted butter (which I used instead of shortening) and all the dry ingredients. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or so. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll), covered them with saran wrap and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right for me. Decent dinner roll. NOTE: When you make this roll recipe--don't follow the instructions on letting it rise. Use warm water. Using cold water may work for others but it's never worked for me. It'll save you some wasted ingredients in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
What a bummer! The photos of this recipe look great, but following the directions and recipe exactly how it is written left me with non-fluffy, non-rising bread. I was skeptical adding cold water and not proofing the yeast in warm water and sugar first as most recipes require. I am not a pro bread maker, but I have made it enough so I am puzzled by this recipe's directions. :( The taste was good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
very good! I let my kitchen aid machine do all the kneading for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
These are the best!! used my bread machine to do the work once done rolled and cut then placed in the oven.they are now over a week old and still great So good I use the recipe for my pizza dough Excellent for pizza crust. I am now trying this for a loaf of bread as I write. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Perfect! Made them exactly as the recipe instructs and all 24 of them were gone in one night! They were eaten by everyone as snacks and we had them with homemade spaghetti...they probably would have eaten them for breakfast if there had been any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
VERY good!!!! I just added all the ingredients into my bread machine and ran the dough cycle. Then I shaped them into balls & put half on a cookie sheet and the other half in a spring form pan. Then I preheated the oven to 200, turned the oven off & put the rolls in the oven for their 45 minutes proofing. After that, I preheated to 400 and kept to regular directions. The ones in the spring form were even better we thought. Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mctmagill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These were good, but mine didn't really rise... probably because my kitchen was too cold. I'll try again.... I did like the flavor but I think they were too dense (again, probably because they didn't rise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Really didn't do anything for me. I needed a quick and fairly easy recipe to make for Christmas Eve dinner and these seemed to fit the bill but they really weren't anything spectacular. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these with Christmas dinner and they all disappeared. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I knew this recipe was good because it is the roll recipe my sister always uses. I had to make it twice to get it right, but the second time gave me great results. I used the amount of salt called for the first time I made them, and found them way too salty. The second time I made them, I cut back to 1 1/2 teaspoons of salt. I also subbed butter for the shortening (and my sister usually uses canola oil). I also used warm water instead of cold water in the recipe to save on rising time. My husband and youngest daughter really liked them (as did I)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States