Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Elise Hollandsworth Hartmann
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These were amazing! I sub'd Earth Balance for the shortening and used organic sugar. They were an incredible addition to our vegan thanksgiving! Also, I let my bread machine handle the kneading/rising process since I was busy making other dishes that day. It worked like a dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elise Hollandsworth Hartmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Allentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious. Can the dough be saved for a later date?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love these. We did have to try three times before they turned out right. You have to proof the yeast in 105* water with a bit of sugar till it foams. When they did finally work it there wonderful. Making them tonight for thanksgiving tomorrow. Warm up great in the oven and my fiance even made chicken sandwiches with them. This time useing honey instead of sugar cant wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Hi, it's me again! Okay, I think I found out what the problem is with this recipe. The ingredients list calls for active dry yeast(which they state has to be mixed with liquid first to activate and then you can add to recipe). but in the directions it states mix in INSTANT YEAST with the dry stuff, which you cannot really do with active dry yeast if you want it to proof right. I happened to look at the recipe again, trying to figure out what went wrong(even though it tasted like a delicious soft pretzel and not a yeast roll - so I will still do it the other way too!)and I noticed this. So, I am going to get some instant yeast, and try again and see if it comes out differently and then I'll be back to review. Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Super easy, super tasty! Family loved these rolls. I paired this with a butternut squash soup and salad for a delicious dinner. Will try to make with whole wheat flour and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tator Tot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
They were good. I quartered the recipe since I was just cooking for my small family and forgot that I should prolly watch the cooking time a little more closely so mine ended up a little over done. I also proofed my yeast with the sugar and warm water before adding it to the remaining ingredients which cuts down on the kneading time... cuz we all know how we would love to extend the time we knead... lol well anyways the flavors were there and I will most likely use this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made these the other day and they turned out light and fluffy, and tasted so delicious! They went well with the sloppy joes I made. I only made half the recipe and shaped them into 8 rolls. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. The dough is very lovely to work with. Very soft and elastic-y. If you decide to proof the yeast, then skip the kneading for 20 minutes alltogether. The long kneading breaks down/dissolves the yeast, as heat is transfered from your hands to the dough. That's what makes this recipe so unique. If you had problems with rising, then check the expiry date on the yeast package. If it's expired then don't use it. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Maria! I'm glad to have learned a new technique for making rolls. I will definitely be making these rolls again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by bllbored
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
these turned out wonderful! light and fluffy and perfect for soaking up gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the warm water (I didn't use cold water, yeast works better with warm water) and sugar for ten minutes, then I added the melted butter (which I used instead of shortening) and all the dry ingredients. I kneaded it in the Kitchen Aid with the dough hook for about five minutes or so. I set it to rise in a greased bowl on my heating pad for an hour, then formed them into rolls and plopped them into greased muffin tins (about a heaping 1/4 cup for each roll), covered them with saran wrap and set them to rise on my heating pad until they doubled. Right before baking, I lightly brushed them with a little melted butter. 400* for 12 minutes was just right for me. Decent dinner roll. NOTE: When you make this roll recipe--don't follow the instructions on letting it rise. Use warm water. Using cold water may work for others but it's never worked for me. It'll save you some wasted ingredients in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
What a bummer! The photos of this recipe look great, but following the directions and recipe exactly how it is written left me with non-fluffy, non-rising bread. I was skeptical adding cold water and not proofing the yeast in warm water and sugar first as most recipes require. I am not a pro bread maker, but I have made it enough so I am puzzled by this recipe's directions. :( The taste was good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States