Southern Butter Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This is by far the best bun recipe I have found on this site. They are light and so very easy to make. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Fantastic! I warmed the water with the butter flavored shortening. I also used my bread machine on the dough setting for the kneading and rising. I got 15 rolls in a 9x13 pan.Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
just made these again and added a little extra sugar and turned the dough into cinnamon rolls! The best I've tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miskyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was another recipe I really wanted to like, and maybe need to give it another try, as another reviewer here suggested. It got such fantastic reviews, and I followed the recipe to a "T", but ultimately the rolls were dry and hard. Decent flavor, sub-par texture. I wanted the light, fluffy texture most others were raving about! Any suggestions would be most appreciated...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
i made 18 thinking that i would make some for dinner and then lunch the next day.... not one was left and everyone asked for more! quick tip: i didnt knead for 20 but i rise the dough in a preheated oven that i had turned off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Made exactly as recipe states these rolls are light and airy. Lovely golden brown tops. Definitely will be my go-to for dinner rolls. Will be using another reviewers idea for wheat rolls as well. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made these as the recipe is written and will make these again and again. I have been looking for a new good recipe for dinner rolls and this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Awesome! I made mine slightly more dense because I skipped the shortening completely and subbed for 1/4 cup of canola oil... the shortening is not healthy enough for us and the canola oil worked out fine. I also baked for 12 minutes on 350 and they were completely done.. maybe my oven is just quick. I brushed the top of the rolls with margarine. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinLiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I did not having any shortening so I used butter and I placed these in a muffin pan and they came out perfect!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Just an ordinary dinner roll, don't see what is so specail about them. With a little bit of extra spices and some butter on them I think they would be much better. Maybe some italian seasonings an some parm cheese would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Virginia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States