Southern Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
These were greaat. I substituted a 1/4 cup bread crumbs for the slice of bread. A definite thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I thought these burgers were pretty good, but not "southern" as the name implies. I used dijon mustard, 1/4 c. of plain bread crumbs, 1 tsp. of garlic powder vs. garlic salt and used 1/4 tsp. each of salt and pepper. We grilled them and put them on toasted sesame rolls with cheddar cheese, lettuce, roasted tomato, thin sliced red onion, and little mayo. They were very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
These are the only way i am going to make burgers now. My 4 yr old ate 2 of them and wanted more! These were the best and the moistest burgers I have ever made. I also added tome steak seasoning like I always do and I used 1/4 cup of bread crumbs and added a little bit of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This burger doesn't sound too Southern. It might be a meatloaf burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were good, a bit too much worcestershire sauce. I pan fried these babies but they didn't completely hold together as well as I hoped. I use 93% lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These were very flavorful. I added extra breadcrumbs as it needed it to hold the burgers together. Also added some finely diced pickles instead of using them as a topping. The mustard really gives it a flavour hit. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a good burger. I would have rated it a five, but it doesn't stick together when cooking. I cut the cooking time in half, and it was still cooked all the way through. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These are just average. They are meatloaf burgers not really hamburgers. Even the great American chef James Beard's favorite hamburger recipe is a meatloaf burger. Anytime you add this much stuff to the meat it becomes meatloaf. Mine also did not stick together, but I thawed the meat in the microwave. To make them stick together better, try using fresh - never frozen - hamburger. Or, at least, don't thaw the meat in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was wonderful!!! Thanks Wayne. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was an alright burger. It has alot of flavor but it lost the burger flavor with everything in it. But so ppl know, i have a trick to keeping homemade burgers together... After you form them put them back in the fridge for about 15 - 30 min before cooking them. It always helps me with keeping them together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States