Southern Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I thought these burgers were pretty good, but not "southern" as the name implies. I used dijon mustard, 1/4 c. of plain bread crumbs, 1 tsp. of garlic powder vs. garlic salt and used 1/4 tsp. each of salt and pepper. We grilled them and put them on toasted sesame rolls with cheddar cheese, lettuce, roasted tomato, thin sliced red onion, and little mayo. They were very juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
good but nothing fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
These are just average. They are meatloaf burgers not really hamburgers. Even the great American chef James Beard's favorite hamburger recipe is a meatloaf burger. Anytime you add this much stuff to the meat it becomes meatloaf. Mine also did not stick together, but I thawed the meat in the microwave. To make them stick together better, try using fresh - never frozen - hamburger. Or, at least, don't thaw the meat in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was pretty good in terms of flavour, but they did not hold together very well. In the future, I will probably use a different recipe but add some of the flavours from this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
What's southern about it????????? It's just a fair to middlin' burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
this is a great recipe. I used ground turkey instead of beef and seasoned bread crumbs instead of slice of bread. Also mixed in chopped onions. What a great hamburg with alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a good burger. I would have rated it a five, but it doesn't stick together when cooking. I cut the cooking time in half, and it was still cooked all the way through. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This burger doesn't sound too Southern. It might be a meatloaf burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These were good, a bit too much worcestershire sauce. I pan fried these babies but they didn't completely hold together as well as I hoped. I use 93% lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was wonderful!!! Thanks Wayne. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States