Southern Biscuits with Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil. That was the only change I made. I dropped these into greased muffin tins instead of messing with cutting them so they wouldn't have a chance to turn out tough. These turned out so good--flaky and really just........YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I have been making biscuits by this recipe since I was in elementary school and it works every time if you do it right! You need to use SELF-RISING, SOFT WHEAT flour, which is not as commonly available elsewhere as it is in the South. Good brands are White Lily or Hudson Cream -- NOT a hard wheat flour like Pillsbury,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe, especially when you need something in a pinch! I added a tsp. of garlic powder and used melted butter vs. veg oil cutting the amount in half. I baked these in muffin cups lined with paper liners sprayed with a little Pam which made things a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
I submitted a similar recipi,(Mayonaise Biscuits, by Georgie Brent) but I think this one is a vast improvement! Mine were drop bicuits and this recipi is for rolled and cut,and they turn out more uniform and fluffier. Bravo Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
The flavor wasn't bad. Maybe I rolled them too flat or cooked them to long, but they were flat and hard. I called them brick biscuits when I served them. I like the other mayonnaise buscuits on this site much better. These also take three times the time to prepare and also makes three times the mess. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I also agree with others, this reminds me of the biscuits my sister, grandmother and a great-grandmother used to make----but, the mayo is an addition and must make the difference as I could never get them to turn out like this recipe. Hoorah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saltado
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These biscuits were hard to mess up, in my opinion. The dough was easy to mix together and the biscuits came out soft and delicious. I did make my own self-rising flour by adding 1 tsp salt and 3 tsp baking powder to all-purpose flour. I also used an olive oil mayonnaise. Neither of those things detracted from the final product. Mine cooked a little faster than the 20 minutes. I have a convection oven and 16 minutes at 400 degrees was perfect. Thanks for introducing me to this "new" way of making biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These are fantastic!! be sure not to over cook keep a close eye on them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kansasprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were good, but I'd really hoped for a lighter, fluffier biscuit. They were a little on the dense side, but had good flavor. These were a nice addition to our chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Thanks to this recipe I can make biscuits just like my grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States