Southern Biscuits with Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I made as directed and found them dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Used butter instead of oil. Tried not to handle the dough too much, but the still came out a bit hard. I'll try patting them out then doubling them over before cutting next time. Quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saltado
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These biscuits were hard to mess up, in my opinion. The dough was easy to mix together and the biscuits came out soft and delicious. I did make my own self-rising flour by adding 1 tsp salt and 3 tsp baking powder to all-purpose flour. I also used an olive oil mayonnaise. Neither of those things detracted from the final product. Mine cooked a little faster than the 20 minutes. I have a convection oven and 16 minutes at 400 degrees was perfect. Thanks for introducing me to this "new" way of making biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is a very good biscuit. The flavor is excellent, it is easy to make, takes very little time, and if it has a flaw it is that they did not rise quite as much as I would like...which may improve as I make them again. thank you for sharing this great biscuit recipe. First good scratch biscuits I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I have just found my new biscuit recipe. I love that it does not require all the shortening, will be a lot cheaper on my budget I think especially since it requires ingredients that I always keep on hand. The only change I did was to make my own buttermilk b/c I was out of my normal dry buttermilk that I keep on hand. I just took 1 cup of whole milk added 1 tbsp of apple cider vinegar and allowed it to site 5-10 minutes. I definitely recommend this recipe. For previous reviews that stated the biscuits were hard I would suggest not playing with your dough too much. I put mine on a floured surface and did not roll I just used my hands to pat the dough 1/2 inch thick. My biscuits turned out fluffy and yummy. My family loved them there were none left. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
These biscuits turned out well -- though for my oven, 20 minutes was much too long. They were ready in about 13 minutes. Also I think they needed a little salt. But the texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Super simple and very good. I didn't have buttermilk, so I used a little over a teaspoon of vinegar to sour the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Turn out great. I added some pepperjack to the batter . It was a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great recipe, especially when you need something in a pinch! I added a tsp. of garlic powder and used melted butter vs. veg oil cutting the amount in half. I baked these in muffin cups lined with paper liners sprayed with a little Pam which made things a lot easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
These are fantastic!! be sure not to over cook keep a close eye on them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kansasprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States