Southern Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Yummy. Hubby is a Southerner and insisted on this for Thanksgiving. (A tradition so he says but they serve it year round) I've never made it and hubby was determined to be highly critical of any that I made. This recipe did the trick. It wasn't too expensive adding cream cheese and condensed milk like other recipes. It was just simple and cheap to make. It wasn't hard like the ones where you make cooked pudding and meringue either. Easy and hubby gobbled it up with raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a family tradition...my mother always preferred vanilla pudding instead of the banana cream as it can sometimes have a "fake" taste. This is also good with graham cracker crumbs instead of the vanilla wafers. It's one of those recipes that anyone can make and most everyone loves!! A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
Awesome, yet easy!! My husband usually makes it the old-fashioned, true southern, messy kitchen way and he LOVED my quick, no-cook way better!! I sprinkled some cinnamon on top to give it some "right-outta-the-oven" color and this addition gave it an extra special kick of flavor!! We will never make banana pudding by the old school rules again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I LOVED this recipe. After being told I had to cut my sugar intake by more than half (gestational diabetes) I still wanted something sweet.I used sugar free vanilla pudding, sugar free nilla wafers, and sugar free cool whip. It tasted the same to me and I cut almost all of the sugars out of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
While this is very easy to do, it doesn't hold a candle to the cooked pudding and meringue banana pudding I grew up with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2001
My family members, which are die hard southerners who enjoy food prepared the old-fashioned way absolutely LOVED this lighter, fluffier version of the traditional Banana Pudding. I enjoy making this version for those who come to my home to enjoy a truly southern meal. They leave satisfied and full of smiles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by South Carolina Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
My Nanna used to make this when I was a child. It is as good today as it was then. This is my husbands new favorite. It is so easy even he could make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
My family loves this banana pudding. It is a fast and easy to prepare & It is really delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Good but I prefer the old fashion taste of vanilla pudding cooked in a double boiler. LOL My grandmother made that way. This was a hit with the family but too cool whipish for me. I will make again because it was very easy to make and it was gone in a day.**Update 7/4/09** Add an additional package of pudding, it provides a "real" pudding taste, instead of a major cool whip taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This recipe is very simple and great tasting. I used french vanilla flavored pudding instead of banana cream flavored and when I make this again, I'll probably soak the bananas in something sweet to add sweetness and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Sparkling Raspberry JIGGLERS

These fun, fruity jigglers add a bit of bling to dessert!

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States