Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Cooked the onion with the squash. I used Ritz crackers instead of bread crumbs. This is really rich so the second time I made it I halved the butter that's mixed into the topping. Everybody asks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe! Instead of dry bread crumbs I used progresso garlic & herb bread crumbs and it gave it a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I love this recipe! It's so simple and yet so very good! It's a new spin on an old favorite of mine and the best squash 'casserole' i've ever had! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe; didn't need sugar or pepper. Cheese on top makes it extra good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
This was great- I used a white onion I had already chopped that was in the fridge- very mild and I think that was awesome. I also didn't use additional butter on the topping- baked at 375 for 1/2 hour and then I turned off the oven and left it in there while I got the rest of the dinner ready. Easy, very delicious and a nice way to use the always abundant summer squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Delicious! Easy! I used seasoned breadcrumbs and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I made this tonight and it was wonderful. I followed other reviewers comments and cut down on the butter. I used the 1/4 cup in squash but only drizzled small amount on top. I also added some parmisan cheese to top. Had no regular bread crumbs so used Panko instead. Also added about 1/2 tsp ground sage. Could use more salt, but I may have had a little more than 3 pounds squash. We loved it. Thanks for the recipe I saved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
We LOVED this. The egg and bread crumb mixture really makes this dish stand out. I added shredded mexican blend cheese on top with the bread crumbs. I covered the dish with foil and cooked 25 minutes at 400 degrees, then uncovered it for about 7 minutes. My picky boyfriend told me I can make this whenever I want. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States