Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Halved this one for just the two of us and it was FANTASTIC! As suggested by others I cut down on the butter on top. I used fresh candy apple sweet onions and fresh yellow squash from one of our local farmer's markets. Not having time, room, or energy for a garden I find the farmer's markets a huge plus to our meals. Only thing I may do different next time is skip the sugar. I just didn't see the use. (Maybe it's because the onions we use are sweet enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! Easy to make. Tastes like Boston Market squash casserole! Will make this for Thanksgiving! I make with zucchini or yellow squash, or combo of both... I am actually going to try this with eggplant next time! Our new favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Made exactly according to the recipe and it was amazing! (And I don't even like squash, it was a gift!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This was a great altrenative to just coonking them in a pan on the stove. Taste was great and it was so nice to have a change!! Definitley going to make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This is a great recipe! I did not have an onion, so I pressed two garlic wedges and hoped for the best. It was great! Also- did not have breadcrumbs so I had to use crushed triscuits (for the topping) and Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix (herb?) from a bag that I crushed up. YUMMO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! My husband and I both gave it 5 stars. I did use cracker crumbs because that is what I had available, but otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. I liked it because you can taste the summer freshness of the squash. It isn't masked by cheese, sour cream, soup, etc. I will definitely make this again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky River, Ohio, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe is very simple and DELICIOUS!My family really liked this one. I definitely will use this recipe again, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is so good. Will make again and again. I used crackers and topped with croutons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Delicious! I made it just as the recipe directs, and my husband and I loved it. We used fresh squash from my dad's garden - I'm sure that helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was a simple and good. I did add some cheese on top. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States