Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great non-cheese casserole! I sliced instead of chunk-ed. I don't ever boil the squash for a casserole. I like for it to still maintain some of its firmness and this cuts out extra steps. That's the only thing that I did differently... Like someone posted earlier, you wouldn't pre-boil potatoes for a potato casserole, so I never understood the step of pre-boiling squash. Also, summer squashes can be and are eaten raw in salads and with dips, so I recommend skipping boiling. The recipe will still turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAndre77

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Not bad, but quite bland and boring. I'd rather eat just boiled (or steamed) squash with butter than bother with this recipe. I'll stick with the fabulous Yellow Squash Casserole recipe when I want something along this line.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeltown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I echo what other reviewers have said. I was skeptical about this recipe, thinking it might be bland. I tried it anyway b/c my husband doesn't like cheese and I was craving squash casserole. It was so good! Some recipes have a wow factor and this, IMO, isn't a wow kinda dish...I mean, it's squash. The simplicity of taste and ease of making is what earned it a 5 stars from me. Also, I think this would taste great as a main dish, if lump crab meat or oysters where added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aboucher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Yum!!! Everyone loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I'm only giving it a low rating because of the bread crumbs. It would have been much better with buttery crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! The family couldn't stop eating it. Followed recipe almost exactly due to what I had available. The changes I made were using 3 small zucchini and 2 small yellow squash, seasoned breadcrumbs and for the topping 1 tablespoon of butter instead of 1/4 cup. Everything else was the same. Will make again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I also chose this recipe because it didn't have cheese or cans of soup in it. Squash is tasty and healthy on its own, and doesn't need to be covered in cheese! That being said, I wasn't super impressed with this. The crumbs, butter, and eggs didn't add a ton of flavour - just a heaviness that I could do without. Next time I'm just going to put the squash, onions, and some pepper in my baking dish and keep it even more simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was really good. I used garlic herb breadcrumbs, half the butter and no sugar. Also, I sauteed the onions first as my family doesn't like crunchy onions and wanted to make sure they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Doyle Lundy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
LOVE it. a great way to serve a good veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States