Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I'm only giving it a low rating because of the bread crumbs. It would have been much better with buttery crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is absolutely delicious! The family couldn't stop eating it. Followed recipe almost exactly due to what I had available. The changes I made were using 3 small zucchini and 2 small yellow squash, seasoned breadcrumbs and for the topping 1 tablespoon of butter instead of 1/4 cup. Everything else was the same. Will make again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I also chose this recipe because it didn't have cheese or cans of soup in it. Squash is tasty and healthy on its own, and doesn't need to be covered in cheese! That being said, I wasn't super impressed with this. The crumbs, butter, and eggs didn't add a ton of flavour - just a heaviness that I could do without. Next time I'm just going to put the squash, onions, and some pepper in my baking dish and keep it even more simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was really good. I used garlic herb breadcrumbs, half the butter and no sugar. Also, I sauteed the onions first as my family doesn't like crunchy onions and wanted to make sure they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
LOVE it. a great way to serve a good veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Really, really good. It didn't get five stars because the texture was odd. A little thicker than I wanted, and pasty looking. The flavor was awesome. though. I will definitely make again, only next time use flour instead of bread crumbs in it. Also, for the topping, I mixed the bread crumbs with melted butter, and it required way more crumbs than 1/4 cup to make it crispy and crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Great recipe - thanks for sharing! I also used Ritz crackers like other reviewers, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great comfort food. I used ritz crackers, and added 1/2 cup chedder cheese,no sugar, and a can of cream of mushroom soup,and 1 can of milk. yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
If you're looking for a good squash casserole, you've found it! One word - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This reminds me of a dish my Mom used to make. She toasted the saltines in butter and then topped the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States