Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Just got to try this recipe and friend and I sampled and love it! Cooking for family BBQ and wanted to do something easy with vegetables - especially as have some picky vegetable eaters in the family now. After reading the reviews, decided to mix summer squash and zucchini cubed into bite size pieces then just slightly sautéed in pan (not boiled) with some of the butter called for to soften and release some of the natural water and flavor and added a little extra onion too. Poured every thing into casserole dish and mashed with back of spoon a bit when combining with egg / bread crumb mixture. The sugar was omitted and since have gluten allergy in family, used gluten free bread crumbs (Italian seasoning) but also added a dash of garlic and a little extra black pepper - yummy! Did mix gluten free bread crumbs with melted butter to pour over and did need a bit more to give a 'crust' to the top but was wondering if a slight sprinkling of parmesan on top of the crust would give another dimension to the flavor. Will have to try that and yes, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I used plain panko bread crumbs for the topping and seasoned bread crumbs for the middle. I did not boil the squash, instead stir fried it with the onion and it wasn't limp. Good, yummy stuff here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I enjoyed this. I cut the squash into a smaller dice, maybe 1/2 to 3/4 inch, and did not cook it beforehand. I just mixed the diced raw squash with the other filling ingredients, and covered the top with crushed Ritz crackers/melted butter. I covered it with foil for the first half hour, then uncovered it for the final half hour, and the crumb topping was perfectly browned. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulalalala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
it was really tasty. i didn't like squash before this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
4 stars and very tasty as written. It is quite rich and doesn't need all the butter called for. I agree with other reviewers that the squash should be 'sweated' with a little of the butter and the onion and not boiled. It is also a very forgiving recipe. I have used a mixture of zucchini and yellow squash. You could also add add cubes of ham to make this a main dish, or bacon bits to make it a little fancier for a company meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Chavez Ramos
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is very easy,quick and sooo delish! I made a double batch for tonight's dinner and we've already eaten almost half the pan lol Smells so good when it's baking,like thanksgiving I used some crumbled up potatoe chips for crispy topping??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Chavez Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Really yummy. Barely boiled the squash and put a raw zucchini to add color! Added Parmesan cheese on top and grilled chicken after. I don't care about presentation so it looked interesting after being mixed up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very good. I sweated the squash & onions for a few minutes in a pan instead of boiling. Loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious! And finally a squash dish without cheese. I also halved the topping butter and next time I think I'll add in some fresh corn cut off the cob (after cooking the cobs with the squash).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very Good...Added extra onion,salt & pepper, garlic powder,cheddar cheese. Would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bryant-Bain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States