Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used Saltine crackers in place of bread crumbs. Turned out great! We treated it like a main dish. It's so eggy that it is almost like a squash frittata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I added a little (3 slices) of premade (real) bacon crumbles to the top for a little extra flavor and crunchiness. Very good and will make again. Goes good with slow cooker pork butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Why would you boil the squash? I cubed my squash and put it in a corning-ware dish with a few tablespoons of water, covered and cooked in microwave for eight minutes. I opted not to mash the squash. Make sure you really grease your baking dish!! My husband, who's not a fan of any squash, declared this the best squash recipe I've ever made! I will make this again and again. A great way to use abundant summer squash and something different than the usual sautéed squash with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I used corn bread stuffing mix and only I egg. I also used the squash broth to moisten the mixture. Personally, I'm not one to measure much (been cooking for a long time) so I just know when it looks right. The flavoring from the stuffing mix really made a good side dish. I served this with baked pork chops and freshly snapped green beans cooked with bacon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Turned out good, but my pan is slightly oversized and resulted in a really thin casserole. I may try a 9 x 9 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Great! Used italian breadcrumbs. Sauteed squash and onions in olive oil until tender. Baked for 30 minutes at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Great! Followed the recipe exactly as written. My boyfriend says this is a recipe to keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Instead of bread crumbs I used crushed garlic croutons. Gives it a little more taste and spice. Awesome recipe and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very traditional southern recipe...throw in some sliced zucchini with the yellow squash for a pretty twist. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Apple-Stuffed Squash

Learn how to make a spicy apple-stuffed squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States