Southern Baked Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I enjoyed this. I cut the squash into a smaller dice, maybe 1/2 to 3/4 inch, and did not cook it beforehand. I just mixed the diced raw squash with the other filling ingredients, and covered the top with crushed Ritz crackers/melted butter. I covered it with foil for the first half hour, then uncovered it for the final half hour, and the crumb topping was perfectly browned. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulalalala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
it was really tasty. i didn't like squash before this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
4 stars and very tasty as written. It is quite rich and doesn't need all the butter called for. I agree with other reviewers that the squash should be 'sweated' with a little of the butter and the onion and not boiled. It is also a very forgiving recipe. I have used a mixture of zucchini and yellow squash. You could also add add cubes of ham to make this a main dish, or bacon bits to make it a little fancier for a company meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ruth Chavez Ramos
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This recipe is very easy,quick and sooo delish! I made a double batch for tonight's dinner and we've already eaten almost half the pan lol Smells so good when it's baking,like thanksgiving I used some crumbled up potatoe chips for crispy topping??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Chavez Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Really yummy. Barely boiled the squash and put a raw zucchini to add color! Added Parmesan cheese on top and grilled chicken after. I don't care about presentation so it looked interesting after being mixed up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very good. I sweated the squash & onions for a few minutes in a pan instead of boiling. Loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Delicious! And finally a squash dish without cheese. I also halved the topping butter and next time I think I'll add in some fresh corn cut off the cob (after cooking the cobs with the squash).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Very Good...Added extra onion,salt & pepper, garlic powder,cheddar cheese. Would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bryant-Bain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Very yummy. I used seasoned bread crumbs and this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by racharn711

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used Saltine crackers in place of bread crumbs. Turned out great! We treated it like a main dish. It's so eggy that it is almost like a squash frittata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States