Southern Apple Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Super recipe! I didn't bother with the olive oil, just added an extra T of mayo instead. Delicious light meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I really don't like tuna but since others do I was looking for something a little different. The apple and dill weed is what made this for me a great recipe. I added 1/8 cup of celery and a few shakes of paprika. Also Kraft makes a mayo with olive oil I had some so I used that about 4 tablespoons. It was not as fishy as most tuna salads so it worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Really, really good. We used red onion and, per another reviewer's tip, added a small, shredded carrot. The taste of the salad was a little flat with just the apple; adding the carrot really perked it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe many times since I found it on here. It is sooooo good. It does need more mayo to be added to it. I just add more mayo until it is the consistency I like. I also add 2 ribs of celery for some added crunch. This is completely worth a try if you are looking for a nice twist on plain old tuna salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
As written, it was very good. Made it again and left apple peels on and used heaping tablespoons of relish, and it was excellent. Hubby loved it! Trying it with chicken in place of tuna tonight-yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My wife and I enjoyed this tuna salad. After working out with weights I thought 'this can of tuna is boring' and seen some apples. Found this recipe and we enjoyed a small meal. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very light and refreshing! Tasted great on ciabatta rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Not bad! I was a little hesitant because I've never added anything to my tuna other than the traditional mayonnaise, pepper, salt, and the occasional celery. APPLE SELECTION: I used a "Gold Rush" apple picked from my local orchard. According to them, this apple is really good for salads and dips, which seemed appropriate for tuna salad. It was sweet, but not too sweet, and had a nice crisp to it. I'd recommend it to others, if you can get it! I did not have dill weed or onion, but I don't think missing either affected how tasty this is. The apple and tuna are the main ingredients you taste, with a little hint of relish flavor (I used B&G sweet relish I had in the fridge from the hot dog days of summer.) Yes, you WILL need more mayonnaise, it is dry as written. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Nice twist with the apples and the dill. kids and husband liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was surprisingly really good. I tend to like tuna the way I grew up on it & don't usually stray from that. But, I had a juicy apple sitting there and I thought "what the heck". Since I'm only making one serving, I halved the recipe. They must make tuna cans smaller because mine is 5 oz. I used the white albacore in water. I wasn't sure what to think of adding olive oil, but I really liked it. I did use a bit less and added more mayo, but I like the subtle flavor of a good olive oil in there. I used a bit less apple because it seemed to be too much for the amount of tuna. I only had dill pickles so I used a bit less dill. It's a really nice change of pace from my normal tuna salad. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States