Southern Apple Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My wife and I enjoyed this tuna salad. After working out with weights I thought 'this can of tuna is boring' and seen some apples. Found this recipe and we enjoyed a small meal. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anuk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very light and refreshing! Tasted great on ciabatta rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Not bad! I was a little hesitant because I've never added anything to my tuna other than the traditional mayonnaise, pepper, salt, and the occasional celery. APPLE SELECTION: I used a "Gold Rush" apple picked from my local orchard. According to them, this apple is really good for salads and dips, which seemed appropriate for tuna salad. It was sweet, but not too sweet, and had a nice crisp to it. I'd recommend it to others, if you can get it! I did not have dill weed or onion, but I don't think missing either affected how tasty this is. The apple and tuna are the main ingredients you taste, with a little hint of relish flavor (I used B&G sweet relish I had in the fridge from the hot dog days of summer.) Yes, you WILL need more mayonnaise, it is dry as written. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Nice twist with the apples and the dill. kids and husband liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was surprisingly really good. I tend to like tuna the way I grew up on it & don't usually stray from that. But, I had a juicy apple sitting there and I thought "what the heck". Since I'm only making one serving, I halved the recipe. They must make tuna cans smaller because mine is 5 oz. I used the white albacore in water. I wasn't sure what to think of adding olive oil, but I really liked it. I did use a bit less and added more mayo, but I like the subtle flavor of a good olive oil in there. I used a bit less apple because it seemed to be too much for the amount of tuna. I only had dill pickles so I used a bit less dill. It's a really nice change of pace from my normal tuna salad. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
We LOVE this recipe! I like to add celery, walnuts and a bit more mayo to ours! It's a keeper for us! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This was ok for something different, but it's not something I would make again. The dill was too overpowering for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great flavor, and love the added touch of the apples!! Added shredded carrot for extra color/flavor/texture. I was out of onion, so added onion powder/flakes, which I prefer any way for a smoother tuna salad!! Went well atop my salad for lunch @ work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This recipe saved me on a day when I was out of celery, and we liked it with the apple! I did add some slivered almonds for a little extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful. Double the mayo and add 1/4 cup of pecans and it is perfection! Serve on toasted bread with lettuce and a thin slice of tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mock Tuna Salad

See how to make faux “tuna” salad using mashed chickpeas!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States