South of The Border Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Great soup! I didn't have any tortillas but I'll be sure to have some around next time I make this! I also added 1/2 tsp ground cumin, use red and green bell peppers and an additional cup of chicken broth. Besides having tortillas on hand next time, I think I add some noodles in place of the mixed veggies because it was "differnt" to have carrots, beans and chopped broccoli with this mexican flair but overall, we are are please with the result of this soup. Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and we loved it. I did add a little celantro at the end for color as well as taste. Making this for the second time tonight.MMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
very good.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was excellent & easy. I just added frozen peppers & onions (more then suggested)w/ salt & Pepper. Yummy. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is so easy and quick to make and delicious. I too added ramen noodles and 3 cups vegetables with a little extra chicken broth. Didn't have any tortillas so we use Tostitos tortilla chips either on top or on the side and that tasted great. Next time I will try the tortillas as the recipe suggested. Thanks for sharing, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This is an excellent soup. My whole family loved it. They especially liked the fried tortillas on top of the soup. I highly recommend this recipe. Also instead of 2 cups of frozen vegetables, I used 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Everyone in my family liked this recipe, and that's saying something! I did have to make a few substitutions and changes. I added a package of ramen noodles (saw that someone added extra veggies) to take up some of the liquid. We didn't have corn tortillas, but I used flour. We broke them into smaller pieces to put into the soup. They really made a huge difference! It was like adding crackers and having them stay crunchy. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
My family really likes this soup. I make it in the crock pot, so I use fresh carrots and potatoes for vegetables. It's easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I couldn't find my Chicken Tortilla Soup recipe so I used this one but I had to do some changes on it. I fried onions, 2 cloves garlic, 1 stalk celery thinly sliced, bell pepper all at once in olive oil instead. Instead of frozen mixed vegetables I used 1 can of Bush pinto bean drained, 1 cup of frozen corn, and 1 can of Diced tomatoes and Green Chile. I also used 1 Tablespoon NM Red Chile Powder instead of chili powder. I also used 3 1/2 cups of my homemade chicken broth instead of store bought. My family like hot spicy and even tripling the chile wasn't enough for some them but they add more to their taste in their own bowls. They also thought the soup taste came out great. Our 2 year old grandson keep asking for More Pease! He likes the grated cheese and tortilla strips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was pretty good! I added a little velveeta towards the end and it added to the flavor. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States