South of The Border Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I really liked this soup but I made some changes. Being from TX I thought the mixed vegetables sounded kind of funny so I added a can of kidney beans and a can of corn kernels instead. I also added quite a bit more chili pepper and and a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Great soup! I didn't have any tortillas but I'll be sure to have some around next time I make this! I also added 1/2 tsp ground cumin, use red and green bell peppers and an additional cup of chicken broth. Besides having tortillas on hand next time, I think I add some noodles in place of the mixed veggies because it was "differnt" to have carrots, beans and chopped broccoli with this mexican flair but overall, we are are please with the result of this soup. Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Everyone in my family liked this recipe, and that's saying something! I did have to make a few substitutions and changes. I added a package of ramen noodles (saw that someone added extra veggies) to take up some of the liquid. We didn't have corn tortillas, but I used flour. We broke them into smaller pieces to put into the soup. They really made a huge difference! It was like adding crackers and having them stay crunchy. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This is an excellent soup. My whole family loved it. They especially liked the fried tortillas on top of the soup. I highly recommend this recipe. Also instead of 2 cups of frozen vegetables, I used 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was an easy soup, however I ended up adding much more seasoning to it, it was a bit bland for our taste as is. Try adding, cumin, corriander and a bit more chili powder, once we did this and topped it with tortilla chips it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was excellent & easy. I just added frozen peppers & onions (more then suggested)w/ salt & Pepper. Yummy. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
very good.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Pretty good soup. Except for adding more frozen vegetables, I made it exactly as the directions advised. We did find the flavor to be a bit bland; next time I will add salt & pepper as the soup cooks, and perhaps some cumin as another reviewer had done. I may add more chicken stock as well, since the roux was pretty scarce. Loved the corn tortilla strips on top; definitely a must-have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plainoctoberjane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This was pretty good! I added a little velveeta towards the end and it added to the flavor. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and we loved it. I did add a little celantro at the end for color as well as taste. Making this for the second time tonight.MMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States