South of The Border Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
This is an excellent soup. My whole family loved it. They especially liked the fried tortillas on top of the soup. I highly recommend this recipe. Also instead of 2 cups of frozen vegetables, I used 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Great soup! I didn't have any tortillas but I'll be sure to have some around next time I make this! I also added 1/2 tsp ground cumin, use red and green bell peppers and an additional cup of chicken broth. Besides having tortillas on hand next time, I think I add some noodles in place of the mixed veggies because it was "differnt" to have carrots, beans and chopped broccoli with this mexican flair but overall, we are are please with the result of this soup. Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Everyone in my family liked this recipe, and that's saying something! I did have to make a few substitutions and changes. I added a package of ramen noodles (saw that someone added extra veggies) to take up some of the liquid. We didn't have corn tortillas, but I used flour. We broke them into smaller pieces to put into the soup. They really made a huge difference! It was like adding crackers and having them stay crunchy. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
My family really likes this soup. I make it in the crock pot, so I use fresh carrots and potatoes for vegetables. It's easy and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Pretty good soup. Except for adding more frozen vegetables, I made it exactly as the directions advised. We did find the flavor to be a bit bland; next time I will add salt & pepper as the soup cooks, and perhaps some cumin as another reviewer had done. I may add more chicken stock as well, since the roux was pretty scarce. Loved the corn tortilla strips on top; definitely a must-have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
very good.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
This was excellent & easy. I just added frozen peppers & onions (more then suggested)w/ salt & Pepper. Yummy. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This is so easy and quick to make and delicious. I too added ramen noodles and 3 cups vegetables with a little extra chicken broth. Didn't have any tortillas so we use Tostitos tortilla chips either on top or on the side and that tasted great. Next time I will try the tortillas as the recipe suggested. Thanks for sharing, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Fantastic! But a little thick, I think more broth should be added unless you want more of a "stew". It's all a matter of personal choice. I used tortilla chips instead of making them myself for convenience. I think next time I will kick up the spices to give it more of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
A simple soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States