South Texas Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Original review 2/19/06: This is it! This is the tartar sauce I have been looking for FOREVER! Ever since I was pregnant with my 1st child, and we went to Landry Seafood in Galveston, TX...I ate and ate this stuff! Thank you, thank you! I finally had all the ingredients...the green olives are the secret ingredient. Thanks so much for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Very Very good, hubby oved it. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I haven't tried this yet but I've been looking for this recipe for FOREVER! Every time I go to King's Inn, I'd just sit there and eat this stuff on crackers... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very very good! A little more complex than some recipes, so not as easy to whip up as some recipes. Big deal? Sort of, after a long day of fishing. Nevertheless, I think it is a worthwhile endeavor for the taste, which is unique (in a good way), and sure to get + comments at your next fish fry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
AWESOME, love this on salmon patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
WOW...this is REALLY good! I wanted something more than just mayo mixed with relish and this fit the bill perfectly. I can't believe how good this is, seriously! This will be my new 'go-to' tartar sauce! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
There are a couple of very important items missing in this recipe. One is anchovie paste. I don't know the amount, sorry. The other is that the real original used a tiny pepper called a chile petin instead of jalepenos or serranos. The last comment is that the real product takes on a light beige color rather than being so white, so I feel the amount of Ritz crackers may be off slightly. The consistency is very thick and 'spreadable' rather than easily dippable. Once you try it, you will remember the taste and texture forever and will, as I have, try to reproduce it, unsuccesfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
If the individual who posted the picture for this recipe had followed the directions, the sauce would have more of an orange color that comes from the buttery round crackers. It is never white like the picture. Also, the recipe originally called for jalapeno peppers (fresh, not pickled). I have since found that serrano peppers work much better. I do not seed them, just toss them in the blender. Depending on how much heat you want, I usually use about 3 small ones. When I could not locate my original recipe, I turned to all recipes since I knew I had posted it here. After measuring out all ingredients as listed, I realized something was WRONG. The quantity just did not look right. Eventually, I found the original. It called for 1 PINT, not 1 CUP of mayo. We normally make it with 1 cup of mayo and 1 cup of salad dressing. I am sorry for the mistake. I am glad those who tried it were not disappointed, but try it again using the additional mayo. It makes it to further and will have a smoother texture. Otherwise, for those of you who prefer it the other way, go for it ! Thanks for trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The recipe is good, but I think it is better eaten fresh rather than 24 hours later, I used my home canned jalepenos, home made relish, and home made mayo which I add lime to. The picture is way off as to what it really looks like when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is very easy, and good enough to eat as a dip for crackers. It's also very good with fish sticks I cooked to get them out of the freezer! I'm not fond of jalapenos so I put in only a tablespoon, and added a bit more olives to compensate. I used dried onion, so used less. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States