South Texas Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Sorry, but this is not even close to being King's Inn tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Awesome tartar sauce and a huge hit at a family dinner event! We questioned a full cup of sweet relish, cut the amount to 2 table spoons, and loved the result. Also used fresh 1/2 a jalepenos without seeds but it needed much more spice to really work. I'll try doubling next time and leaving the seeds in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I don't comment on the recipes I find on here much...but I loved this one! The ingredient list seemed strange but after reading the comments I thought I would try. Didn't change a thing other than a few extra peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I've made this twice now and love it! We've been to the kings inn and this is Pretty darn close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I just whipped this up for tomorrow's fish and my family will not stop eating it! It's so yummy and so different with a spicy kick. It's very good on crackers I didn't have saltines so I used all buttery crackers. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
People need to try this. Don't let the ingredients fool you. This is great tartar sauce. I was learey at first due to olives and crackers in a tartar sauce, but it is great. Be brave and at least try it once. I have been using this for about 1 1/2 yrs and just suprised more people haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is very easy, and good enough to eat as a dip for crackers. It's also very good with fish sticks I cooked to get them out of the freezer! I'm not fond of jalapenos so I put in only a tablespoon, and added a bit more olives to compensate. I used dried onion, so used less. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The recipe is good, but I think it is better eaten fresh rather than 24 hours later, I used my home canned jalepenos, home made relish, and home made mayo which I add lime to. The picture is way off as to what it really looks like when finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
If the individual who posted the picture for this recipe had followed the directions, the sauce would have more of an orange color that comes from the buttery round crackers. It is never white like the picture. Also, the recipe originally called for jalapeno peppers (fresh, not pickled). I have since found that serrano peppers work much better. I do not seed them, just toss them in the blender. Depending on how much heat you want, I usually use about 3 small ones. When I could not locate my original recipe, I turned to all recipes since I knew I had posted it here. After measuring out all ingredients as listed, I realized something was WRONG. The quantity just did not look right. Eventually, I found the original. It called for 1 PINT, not 1 CUP of mayo. We normally make it with 1 cup of mayo and 1 cup of salad dressing. I am sorry for the mistake. I am glad those who tried it were not disappointed, but try it again using the additional mayo. It makes it to further and will have a smoother texture. Otherwise, for those of you who prefer it the other way, go for it ! Thanks for trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States