South Texas Style Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I made this once before and then again about five minutes ago. Instead of using dill pickles, I used about 3 TBS of dill relish (with a little juice). I used 9 or 10 olives, and more like 1-1/4 cups of mayo. I'm not a big parsley fan so I omitted it. I chopped the onion, relish, and olives together as instructed and added maybe a teaspoon of lemon juice... It's so good, especially after an hour or so. I love tartar sauce, and this is the best I've had yet! Thanks for sharing, Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Also, just did it in a mini-processor, but it was lacking something, so i added the juice from a small lemon, could have even used more, but excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chadli
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Just good stuff! It was super easy, I tossed everything in the food processor, I added a bit more parsley than the recipe called for, just because I love fresh parsley, and it was WONDERFUL. So far the best recipe I've found on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chadli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I loathe sweet tartar sauce. Loathe it. This is perfect. This replaces my old favorite tartar sauce, which I used to think was perfect. I was wrong. This is it. And, it gets better after a day or two. Yow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Pretty good. I didn't have any onion so I used a little chopped garlic and I added a dash of LA hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was really great. I made my own mayonnaise in a food processor and then added the other ingredients and blended. Looked just like the photo. Added a little lemon juice at the end. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made this for my family last night with fried cod and it was delicious. Simple, fast, and full of flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
It seems I can never just make a recipe, even one as good as this I used 1 1/2 cups light Hellman's mayonnaise, added 2 TB or so of capers.This depends on how much you like capers and how much you're making. I made four big servings, Then added lemon juice, one tsp per serving. Used a little less pickle and added Tabasco hot sauce to taste. My tartar sauce turned a pretty pastel pink.The onions are important. Don't be stingy with then, they add a little crunch. Do refrigerate it for up to a day before using to let the flavors marry. Cajun Belle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very nice recipe. I used it with catfish cakes and it was a perfect match. I would highly recommend everyone to try this one. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was good, I used dry parsley instead of fresh. Next time I will try the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a cheesy game day classic. It’s easy!

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States