South Texas Carne Guisada Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Use rotel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Mendoza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Excellent! I've lived in South Texas my whole life and eaten a lot of carne guisada, but never could replicate it in my kitchen. This is the real deal. Thank you, Rhonda35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
UPDATE: I followed the recipe exactly a second time because I always try recipe's twice to make sure I didn't mess it up. It was much better. The ONLY thing I did differently was I used tenderized round steak and a small can of green chili's. My husband said 4 stars...not 5 though. Follow the recipe EXACTLY...because I don't think I did...and it was not good at all. Not sure where my mistake was...but my husband told me to stick to my other carne guisada recipe. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I am a vegetarian,so I used the Gardien Beef-less tips and it turned out excellent. I did add jalapeno,as I add it to everything,served with guacamole,rice and refried black beans. Que delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely the best carne guisada I have ever eaten. I live in London and have to make all my Mexican food at home. I'm so glad to have found this recipe from back home here in this forum! Mmmmmm delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Ringo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is really great base to start with or leave it as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very good, I added some roasted jalapeno to spice it up for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I am from Alice, Texas and I now live in Tampa, FL. Good Tex-Mex is really hard to find here in Tampa so I crave the flavors that I grew up eating. This is a great recipe--enjoyed it very much. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alice, Texas, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I'm from South Texas and this is a very good basic recipe for Carne Guisada, but any guisada worth having takes hours, not minutes to cook. It's a traditional mexican stew, so you have to STEW it. I usually cook mine for at least 3 hours, low and slow, no matter what cut of meat I use. This is also perfect for a crock pot and is a nice hearty meal to have waiting when you get home. I usually use a 3 pound roast cut into chunks, and a can of mild rotel on top of the fresh tomatoes AND water. Carne Guisada is supposed to have gravy so you want the liquid in there. Also, use masa instead of flour to thicken your gravy for a more traditional flavor. I also add a bunch of fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I just made this, and as usual for me, I used this recipe as a base, and tweaked it as I went along. I was very pleased with how it turned out. I floured the meat to help thicken the sauce. I didn't have 4 large tomatoes, so I ended up using the 3 plum tomatoes and about half a container of grape tomatoes that I had on hand. I used homemade chicken broth instead of water, about a cup. I also added a couple beef bouillon cubes and a cilantro bouillon cube. Because the meat I used was really tough, and because I used more liquid than was called for, I ended up letting it simmer for closer to an hour. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States