South Indian Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
it tastes very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I loved the idea of the fresh fruit and the chickpeas as well as the simplicity of the dish. It was rather bland. I will try it again but next time I may add some red pepper flakes to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I loved the combination of ingredients, but found the lack of seasoning to be a bit disappointing. I added a little cayenne and fresh cilantro, which definitely helped. Overall, refreshing and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very tasty, but must be eaten at once. Not good as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Setesdal, Aust-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
1) Romaine hearts should not even be optional- they don't belong in this dish. 2) I think the writer of the recipe forgot to mention that you should use an UNRIPE mango that's green and tangy. The sweet mushiness of a mango distracts the palate. 3) I agree with another reviewer and spiced it up with some cayenne, cilantro, and a few little green chillies. 4) make sure you rinse canned chickpeas well, otherwise they retain a starchy liquid which tastes funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Nice salad for lunch. I really like this IF you leave out the romaine hearts and add cilantro and red pepper flakes. I also left out the celery but will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Fun combination of ingredients but I gave it a 4-star rating since I would prefer some sort of dressing to go with it which the recipe doesn't include.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vineca
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious, refreshing. I added a shot of my favourite West Indian curry sauce (it has a mango base,a perfect complement.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vineca


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States