South Indian Chickpea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
1) Romaine hearts should not even be optional- they don't belong in this dish. 2) I think the writer of the recipe forgot to mention that you should use an UNRIPE mango that's green and tangy. The sweet mushiness of a mango distracts the palate. 3) I agree with another reviewer and spiced it up with some cayenne, cilantro, and a few little green chillies. 4) make sure you rinse canned chickpeas well, otherwise they retain a starchy liquid which tastes funny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I loved the combination of ingredients, but found the lack of seasoning to be a bit disappointing. I added a little cayenne and fresh cilantro, which definitely helped. Overall, refreshing and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Very tasty, but must be eaten at once. Not good as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Setesdal, Aust-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I loved the idea of the fresh fruit and the chickpeas as well as the simplicity of the dish. It was rather bland. I will try it again but next time I may add some red pepper flakes to liven it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Fun combination of ingredients but I gave it a 4-star rating since I would prefer some sort of dressing to go with it which the recipe doesn't include.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Nice salad for lunch. I really like this IF you leave out the romaine hearts and add cilantro and red pepper flakes. I also left out the celery but will try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
it tastes very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vineca
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious, refreshing. I added a shot of my favourite West Indian curry sauce (it has a mango base,a perfect complement.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vineca


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States