South Georgia Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Have been using Allrecipes since the start and rarely post anything but THIS WAS REALLY GOOD. And so much easier than I thought biscuits had to be (no flour all over the counter, etc.). The recipe came together in about 5 mintues. Used beef dripping (lard) as I had it. Bearing in mind the instructions, I really tried to make sure I didn't "overwork" the dough/batter and did leave it slight sticky. Just squeezed up 9 larger biscuits, patted into rough rounds and left them to the oven. They were barely gold on top when the bottoms were brown -- so watch out, they could get away from you. But I found the recipe's timing to be accurate. I put these with some stew I pulled out of the freezer, but would also be great for breakfast as they're so fast. The texture is not so much flaky but very, very light and fluffy. ***** Have since made this on a holiday visit with friends -- found out we didn't have any milk so substituted some watered down sour cream and that worked brilliantly. This is so handy it'll have to be a keeper ... one of my "desert island recipes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Exactly the biscuit recipe I needed! Best biscuits I have ever made. Will Try with buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
These were my first biscuits to make from scratch and they were wonderful. I can't wait to make them again! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
We did like these: quick to prepare and to bake (I came home from work, decided on impulse, ingredients required you cannot not have) they were devoured in a jiff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
I have been hand-forming my dinner rolls since I came across this recipe a few months ago. I finally got to try the actual recipe---the biscuits were out of this world! My new fav. biscuit recipe. I love the hand-forming instead of rolling technique. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Have been making these for 52 years since I was 12. Mother and Grandmother made these and my grandmother would flatten hers out with her knuckles and make them thin and call them cateyes. Delish. Nothing better with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Absolutely wonderful recipie. I use this one all the time now. These are better than some you get at restaraunts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Best biscuits ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My teenagers asked for seconds and thirds. Quick and easy, no rolling required. I did cut the salt back to after reading other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These are the best bicuits I've ever made. They're even better than the ones you buy in the refridgerated section of the supermarket. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flaky homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States