South Georgia Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I have seen the light and I'm never going back! :) These are so delicious. They look beautiful. It was so easy to make them. It really didn't take much more time than using a mix or making drop biscuits. We paired these with the Southern-Style Chocolate Gravy recipe from this site. Loved 'em! This will definitely be the recipe we use for biscuits in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
a wonderful recipe the family loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Thank you! Thank you! GeorgiaCook1! I had reviewed over 100 biscuit recipes on Allrecipes.com in hope of finding a recipe that would be the hand-formed ones like my Mississippi grandmother made WELL over fifty years ago. Well, dear lady, YOUR recipe was the one that got me to join AllRecipes.com -- I just had to let you know how much I appreciate your helping me resurrect this bygone preparation style for southern biscuits. I'll make your biscuits for my Yankee hubby tonight!! Janna in Germany
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
these biscuits are fabulous! Exactly how I remember the buscuits being when I lived in East GA. It really compliments my chicken fried chicken perfectly, I am DEFINATLY going to be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Loved the biscuits, and not having to roll out made it so much easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the easiest, yummiest, and most versatile biscuit recipe I have ever come across! My family and friends all love these. Plus I can play with the recipe and they always turn out yummy. My favorite is to use whipping cream instead of the whole milk and then add herbs and cheese. Rich, delicately flaky, and perfect for special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
These are pretty good! I used buttermilk and butter and 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
LOVE THIS! EASY on a Sunday morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Not the best biscuit, but gets 4 stars for technique & potential. I thought they tasted good with butter & honey, but were pretty bland. I used a stick of butter instead of shortening, but otherwise followed the recipe. Next time, I will try buttermilk & see if they turn out better. NOTE: Either the bake time is too long, or the oven too hot as these would be burnt in 11 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I've been eating biscuits in South Georgia for close to 70 years -- some good, some mediocre, many of them great. But never tasted any like these. Matter of fact, barely tasted these because they were close to tasteless. Sorry, because they were extremely easy to make. Might try them with buttermilk and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States