South Georgia Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Great recipe, I used butter for the shortening and melted it, which is my sneaky trick for scones. Will try a version with dates, and a cheese and raisin one too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
These were okay, but I prefer a self-rising flour recipe. They were a bit crumbly and too hard on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
very good starting recipe. I am going to add some Cream of Tartar to the recipe next time to see if I can get some flaky texture to this biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Awesome recipe, it doesn't taste like bisquik biscuits like most recipes we've tried and that's exactly what we were looking for to make our biscuits and gravy this morning! Thanks for the recipe! Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
So far, I've tried six different recipes, four from this site, and this is the best home made biscuit recipe I've come across! This one is simple, requires no sifting, and comes out with scrumptous biscuits that do great in the oven even after they've been frozen. I replaced the shortening with lighly salted butter, but otherwise I followed the recipe. I know I lack experience in the hand forming technique and I'm sure I kneaded them more then the recipe called for (I like to use up all my leftover flour or scraps into the dough which requires more kneading), but they still turned out wonderfully! They're done when you get a lightly golden hue on the tops, about 10 min in my oven. A light flakey crust on top, and soft on the inside. To freeze, I simply put the individual uncooked biscuits in a freezer safe container or freezer ziplock with some syran wrap so they don't stick together, took them out when I needed them, allowed them to come to room temp (really important), put them on a baking pan with non stick spray, and cooked like normal in the oven according to recipe. When I make this again, I might try cutting the butter back to 1/3 c and see what that does to the recipe. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Made with half butter and half shortening. Melted 1T butter in a pie pan, then dipped biscuits in butter and placed in pan so edges were touching. Came out tall, flaky, and fluffy in about 15 minutes. Among the best biscuits I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I loved these. These are not your trad. fluffy biscuits. But these were great for biscuits and gravy. This one is a keeper. I think next time I do these I will brush the tops with a butter. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Yum! We followed this as is, but we used 1% instead of whole because that was what we had on hand. Easy to make and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Great Recipe easy to make, simple and quick thats what I will be making from now on, thank you for posting it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Easy to make but nothing special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Basic Biscuits

See how easy it is to make fluffy, flakey homemade biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States