South Carolina Sweet Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I have been trying to make sweet tea that tastes like my Granny's did for years without success, until now. I use all the sugar for myself, but cut it down for my northern friends. I am going to buy a coffee maker to dedicate to tea, because even though I thought I had cleaned the coffee maker well, I still had a faint coffee background flavor in the first batch. Thanks Deanna. I make a couple of gallons a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
In South Carolina, this is how tea is supposed to taste. Stays in my fridge year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
A beautiful, clear tea. I've never been able to make iced tea without it being cloudy. This tea is perfect both in looks AND in taste. I didn't have 'family sized' tea bags, so I used 6 regular sized. Even better with a wedge of lemon. I'm going to try making it with some peach flavored water and see how it comes out !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
A easy recipe that is refreshing and satisfies my sweet tooth. Instead of using the coffee pot, I used the Mr. Coffee Iced Tea Maker, putting the sugar in the pitcher before the tea was brewed. I used one cup of sugar. Would like to hear if anyone has tried it using a sugar substitute such as Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This is exactly how I've been making my tea for over a year and when I tell people I use a coffe pot, they look at me like I'm nuts. But, it's so easy, and it tastes just like the tea we get at local resturants. I actually let my tea bags steep in the tea for about twenty minutes and then pour it into my pitcher. I then add the sugar(two cups) and top with tap water. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This is my favorite way to make tea! I keep it in the fridge year round. I use 1.5 cups of Splenda and it comes out perfectly every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This was so easy! Tastes like north carolina restaurant quality. Will keep making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Wow! Sweet tea--SO easy. I reduced sugar slightly. For me it turned out a little strong--but that's the way I like it. I will be making this at least once a week. Thanks so much for sharing! ----I would like to add that now I make this tea 1-2 times per week. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Finally a recipe that tastes like the sweet tea you can get in the southern style resturants!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
EXCELLENT sweet tea. Since I'm not from SC, I cut back on the sugar for the second batch (and third, and fourth - it's a staple in the house now) and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Dannon Oikos Sweet Summer Smoothie

Fruit blended with creamy yogurt and cold milk makes a refreshing summer snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States