South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used a little less half and half and a little less heavy cream. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We always grab us a bowl of She-Crab soup when we visit the Myrtle and Surfside Beach area each year. This is the first time I tried to make some homemade. It turned out GREAT! I thought I was back at the beach!!! My wife said it was just like Mr. Fish's She-Crab soup. I made my own seafood broth instead of chicken. Couldn't find but crab legs here in Eastern Ky but it turned out good. I also used dried dill instead of fresh. Be sure to let it cook down as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Good recipe. I added Old Bay at the end because I felt it needed a bit extra spice but it was fine without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was great with Pander07's modifications and a few of my own. I hate to say it but my version was much better than some of the stuff I was served in Charleston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lai'Anna Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was just ok for me. Even though I added a lot of Old Bay I still found this to be very bland. Probably will not make again since I do not think it is worth the price of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was a good base, but really it was bland without adding some of my own seasoning. I added Old Bay and some garlic salt. I cut down on the half and half (used 2% milk instead and some extra chicken broth. I used 3 cans of canned crab which I drained the crab juice into the soup. I was great with a little alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This turned out soooo excellent! Though I ended up using "fake" crab as I just could not get my hands on any she-crab, it turned out really good. Nearly as good as the one served to me in South Carolina a couple of years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The directions were simple to follow. My she crab soup came out great! Recommendation: Use real crab meat. Imitation is ok, but the real thing is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is a good recipe, but could cut the milk in half or add more crab. She crab is delicious as a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my gosh! EXCELLENT soup with wonderful flavor. I thought it had better flavor and consistency than any I've had in restaurants. I used Red Rock Crab which seemed perfect for this recipe. The only think I changed was I added about a Tablespoon of Paprika. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States