South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was just ok for me. Even though I added a lot of Old Bay I still found this to be very bland. Probably will not make again since I do not think it is worth the price of the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This was a good base, but really it was bland without adding some of my own seasoning. I added Old Bay and some garlic salt. I cut down on the half and half (used 2% milk instead and some extra chicken broth. I used 3 cans of canned crab which I drained the crab juice into the soup. I was great with a little alteration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This turned out soooo excellent! Though I ended up using "fake" crab as I just could not get my hands on any she-crab, it turned out really good. Nearly as good as the one served to me in South Carolina a couple of years ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
The directions were simple to follow. My she crab soup came out great! Recommendation: Use real crab meat. Imitation is ok, but the real thing is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This is a good recipe, but could cut the milk in half or add more crab. She crab is delicious as a thick stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KTrav
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Oh my gosh! EXCELLENT soup with wonderful flavor. I thought it had better flavor and consistency than any I've had in restaurants. I used Red Rock Crab which seemed perfect for this recipe. The only think I changed was I added about a Tablespoon of Paprika. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTrav

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I just made this soup tonight for the first time. I have to say that this is THE BEST soup that I've ever made and eaten. I did however make several additions to the soup to kick it up a notch. Instead of 5 tablespoons of butter & flour I added 8 tablespoons, I used fish stock instead of the chicken broth (HIGHLY recommend), didn't use the hot pepper sauce, used 1.5 pounds of crabmeat, and added a VAST amount of Old Bay, salt, & pepper for flavor. This recipe, along with my additions, is well worth the money you will spend to make this soup. Hands down the best soup I've ever eaten & I will definitely make this again. It takes me back to the she-crab soup that I enjoyed at The Salty Dog in Hilton Head, SC. I HIGHLY suggest this recipe & use the additions that I did. You will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pander07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Love this recipe since I am missing the she-crab soup from my fav restaurants in Virginia Beach, tastes just like them! I always add old bay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I made a half portion which is plenty (with leftovers) for 2. I added more sherry and salt than the recipe calls for. And I didn't grate the onion and celery. I like the texture that dicing the veg brings to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Nice recipe. It should be labeled as Crab bisques as there is not "She Crab" in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States