South Carolina She-Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Simply divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Baker Dodson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Good, but I agree that it needed more seasonings. This recipe calls for ALOT of cream and that might have something to do with it. I added extra sherry, and it came out ok but not exactly how I expected. I couldn't give it any color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe was great! I did make some adjustments based on previous reviews. I added a TON of old bay and a few extra tbs of hot sauce. Extra salt and pepper and skipped the sherry (didn't have any) we had 8 people over and every one had 2-3 bowls of it and still had left overs! It was so tasty! Even the Navy chef we had over loved it :) definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Authentic, authentic, authentic. This soup is awesome! I didn't have any sherry, so I used sweet vermouth instead, but followed the recipe to a tee otherwise. It tasted so good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Nolletti Pierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This soup might be that traditional Christmas Eve dinner. Easy to make and very delicious. I added canned roasted diced tomatoes and roasted corn fresh off the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I used Canned Crab, never again as it had little bits of shell in the soup. but the flavor was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Really great recipe we did modify it some based on other reviews. We substituted Seafood Stock for the Chicken Broth and added 1 Tablespoon of Old Bay. We also increased the crab to 2 pounds (we like a lot of crab!) It tasted just like the soup we get at our favorite restaurant in Virginia Beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdave363

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used a little less half and half and a little less heavy cream. It turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We always grab us a bowl of She-Crab soup when we visit the Myrtle and Surfside Beach area each year. This is the first time I tried to make some homemade. It turned out GREAT! I thought I was back at the beach!!! My wife said it was just like Mr. Fish's She-Crab soup. I made my own seafood broth instead of chicken. Couldn't find but crab legs here in Eastern Ky but it turned out good. I also used dried dill instead of fresh. Be sure to let it cook down as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Good recipe. I added Old Bay at the end because I felt it needed a bit extra spice but it was fine without too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States