South Beach Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I have been using allrecipes for years and never reviewed a recipe until now... do not try this recipe. No one in my family would eat it, including me after one bite. Sorry to be so cruel, but I wouldn't want anyone else experiencing what I did. I have been on South Beach for a month now and this is the only recipe I found to be this bad!!! Sorry folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This makes a good starter recipe, however I modified it by doing half carrots and half parsnips as the veggie to add into it. I have not tried cooking it in the oven, but instead found a great way to microwave it: create a large flattened doughnut shaped "loaf" (about 12-16 inches diameter) in and cook it in the microwave on high, covered in wax paper, for 10 minutes. Top with the sauce and cook another 4-5 minutes. I like it this way with either beef or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
No thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
No taste at all. Not a fan :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I did exactly what user AGENTLUCY suggested in her review, and it was SOOOO GOOOD!! So flavorful and moist, and still SB-friendly. I used an xtra large glass baking pan and formed a loaf in the middle, and cooked for 35 minutes. Mmmm.... The 5 stars are for that version, not the original, which I didn't try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was tasteless. There is another South Beach Diet Meatloaf recipe out there that is much better than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jaffrey, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I've made different variations of meatloaf and this version is similar to mine. This recipes serves a great basis for a meatloaf in that the texure is wonderful. I used 1 1/2 pounds of ground turkey since I love the leftovers :o)~~ Here is what I did different: 1. I used 1 tsp of seasoning salt. 2. I omitted the red wine 3. I used about 2/3 can of tomato paste to the meatloaf mixture (no sauce was placed on top) 4. I added 2 - 3 tsp Italian seasoning 5. I added 1 TBS of worcestershire sauce 6. I pulsed the oats in food processor so the oat pieces were about halved in size 7. I added a small chopped onion that was sauteed in olive oil. 8. I added NO WATER-----it's not necessary. 9. MOST IMPORTANTLY, DO NOT BAKE IN LOAF PAN!!!! Shape the mixture into a loaf and place on a broiler rack!! The liquids will cook AWAY from the loaf, ensuring a nice "crust". This may seem like a LOT of work, but it's not. I buy several pounds of ground turkey and freeze the raw loaves for future meals. I hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Very bland! You need to spice this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This recipe was quite dry and lacked flavour. I would add onions to it and put most of the tomato sauce in with the meatloaf, instead of on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
so yummy, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States