South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This dish was really sweet and I only used 2/3 of the sugar. I also served it with Bobotie which was also quite sweet so the combination was overpowering. Maybe it should have been 3 teaspoons instead of 3 tablespoons. Otherwise it was quite good with a lovely aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I agree it was too sweet - but next time I’ll make it with 1/2 the sugar it will be perfect. Very fragrant and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I actually cooked this for the first time for my college culture class..several people actually asked me for the recipe! I thought it was a bit bland, but my hubby(who's from Kenya) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I made this with brown rice. I used 3 1/4 cups of water and lengthened cooking time to nearly an hour. It was excellent! My son had three helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I must admit I was a bit nervous about the raisins in rice but it was so delicious. I used brown sugar in place of white sugar and served it with African Curry Chicken. My kids thought it looked gross but was pleasantly surprised and couldn't get enough of it. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Its just to good to be true, well that was not the case. This soothing yellow colored rice went down my throat nice and smooth into my stomach. WE used a little less sugar which was mmmmmm goodies! thanks so much and i love african food! weeeeee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Super Delicious! So glad I tried this recipe! I used Sucanat instead of sugar, in the same qty listed. I also used some vegetable broth for some of the water and added a handful of cashew nuts. Yum! This will be on our table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salihah
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
We had this with some 'South African Boerwors' from Uli's at Pike Place Market. I thought it went well with the sausage, but was still a little too sweet. I'll definitely try this again, but will cut the sugar drastically. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good and easy. I just threw all of the ingredients into the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States