South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
My husband is South African and had high hopes for this dish. Unfortunately, it ended up being just OK. With both sugar adn raisins, this ended up being way too sweet. I will try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good. I was a little skeptical as I don't usually care for sweet rice, but I was pleasantly surprised. I took it to a potluck African celebration. The bowl was empty at the end of the program. Always a good sign. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This would be better if you cut down on the sugar, it was much sweeter than I thought it would be. It has a good flavor though and is a good base for grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was good, but very sweet. . . more like a dessert, almost. If I make it again, I will reduce the white sugar significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Pretty good side dish , will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
My son made this to serve with an African shrimp curry. It was easy, and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Pires

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is really good, but it is too sweet. I'm going to try it again, but next time with less sugar because it was too sweet. Maybe with brown sugar? Half brown, half white? I served it with spicy beans and that helped to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
i made this for my family and they really liked it.... i did half the sugar and it was still sweet... i will use even less sugar tonight.... but other than that i LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharChar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good and easy. I just threw all of the ingredients into the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
We had this with some 'South African Boerwors' from Uli's at Pike Place Market. I thought it went well with the sausage, but was still a little too sweet. I'll definitely try this again, but will cut the sugar drastically. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States