South African Yellow Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I thought this recipe was very good. I was a little skeptical as I don't usually care for sweet rice, but I was pleasantly surprised. I took it to a potluck African celebration. The bowl was empty at the end of the program. Always a good sign. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This would be better if you cut down on the sugar, it was much sweeter than I thought it would be. It has a good flavor though and is a good base for grilled chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was good, but very sweet. . . more like a dessert, almost. If I make it again, I will reduce the white sugar significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Pretty good side dish , will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
My son made this to serve with an African shrimp curry. It was easy, and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
This is really good, but it is too sweet. I'm going to try it again, but next time with less sugar because it was too sweet. Maybe with brown sugar? Half brown, half white? I served it with spicy beans and that helped to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
i made this for my family and they really liked it.... i did half the sugar and it was still sweet... i will use even less sugar tonight.... but other than that i LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharChar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Very good and easy. I just threw all of the ingredients into the rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
We had this with some 'South African Boerwors' from Uli's at Pike Place Market. I thought it went well with the sausage, but was still a little too sweet. I'll definitely try this again, but will cut the sugar drastically. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Super Delicious! So glad I tried this recipe! I used Sucanat instead of sugar, in the same qty listed. I also used some vegetable broth for some of the water and added a handful of cashew nuts. Yum! This will be on our table again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salihah
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States